unable to detect Base Monitor

Monitor, diagnose and receive alerts to problems across your SQL Servers.

unable to detect Base Monitor

Postby thirster42 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:19 pm

Well, i went to my SQL Monitor 2, and apparently it can't connect to my Base Monitor. I've got everything installed on my local machine. It says to check the service, but i have no idea what service it's looking for.

here's the screenshot i have

Image

The install was a standard install, so that should be the port number.
thirster42
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:36 pm

Postby Chris Spencer » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:33 pm

Hi

If you run Services.msc the name of the service is "SQL Monitor 2 Base Monitor". It's possible that this isn't started for some reason.

Hope this helps
Chris
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Chris Spencer
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

Postby thirster42 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:36 pm

Well, i feel a little silly. I ended up finding the service. Apparently it failed because the service was running as my username, and i just recently changed my password. Changed the stored password and restarted the service and now everything's fine!
thirster42
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:36 pm

Postby Chris Spencer » Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:49 pm

Glad it's working for you.

I think it's a good point that the webpage asks the user to check that the service is running but doesn't actually specify what the service is called. Hence I've raised an enhancement request SRP-3041.

Regards
Chris
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Chris Spencer
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

Unable to detect Base Monitor

Postby urid » Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:26 am

Hello
I have encounter exactly the same problem, but my Base Monitor is running up and it is under my account (member of sysadmin server role)
urid
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:44 am

Postby priyasinha » Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:42 am

Hi,

Is there any kind of firewall betwen the web server and base monitor machine? If yes then you would be required to open the appropriate ports to allow the communication between these two machines.

Thanks,
Priya
priyasinha
 
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:02 pm


Return to SQL Monitor Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron