Thanks for your post.
If the developer has inadvertently linked the database in 'shared' mode, then there will never be anything shown in the 'get latest' tab, as a shared database will always be on the latest version.
It might also be that they have the latest version, but have also made several changes to the local copy, which means it is no longer the same version as the repository. He can undo these changes using the undo function, but as he started out with the latest version, the 'get latest' won't show anything to get.
If neither of these apply, then something isn't right. Can you get them to relink and see if the problem remains?