Multi script limit?

Single-click script execution on multiple SQL Servers.

Multi script limit?

Postby efdavila » Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:51 pm

Hi,
I'm querying ~150 servers. I'm getting results for 96 of those servers and then multiscript seems to hang. No errors, just keeps running with no further results. Any idea?

I'm running a simple @@version for the query.

TIA
efdavila
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:48 pm

Postby dlkj » Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:46 am

Hi,

Is the application locking up (as in the ui stops working?) or does it just not return any more results?

If you leave it running for a few min do the SQL Queries time out?

Cheers,
--
Daniel
dlkj
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Red Gate Software, Cambridge

Postby efdavila » Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:56 pm

Hi,
The application sort of locks up. What I mean by that is that I see the spinning "wheel" to the left hand side of the Script execution in progress... status whirling but nothing seems to be happening. As well if I click on the Cancel button it greys out but doesn't stop the spinning wheel thing.
To actually cancel the script, or so I think, I have to go to File|Exit and shutdown the app.

Results of the query itself are the same this morning. I don't get any error messages at all and the script stops at about server ~95 of 150.
efdavila
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:48 pm

Postby dlkj » Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:01 pm

Can you run the query against the last 55 servers only?
--
Daniel
dlkj
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Red Gate Software, Cambridge

Postby efdavila » Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:17 pm

Sure.

Is there a way to export the list of servers so I can pull a subset out? Along the same lines if I maintain a list of servers with the sa password is there a method to import (the list is always getting updated)?

TIA
efdavila
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:48 pm

Postby efdavila » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:56 pm

I couldn't find a way to easily pull out a subset so instead went through the server list and executed an @@version for each server individually. I found that one of the servers was offline (shutdown) and this is where Multi Script hung. Once I unchecked that particular server the script ran against all servers without problem.

This is a pretty good tool but it would benefit greatly if it had the ability to import a list of servers with their associated password. Also the list of servers you add isn't in alpha order so comparing against an existing list is quite a pain.

Thanks...
efdavila
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:48 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:14 am

Hi,

Lots of Multi Script users have asked for an import/export/organization utility for database lists, so I have written a small utility that should tide you over until some more list management finds its' way into the product.

http://labs.red-gate.com/index.php/Mult ... st_manager

I hope this is useful for you!
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6590
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby efdavila » Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:56 pm

Thank you. I'll give it a try.
efdavila
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:48 pm


Return to SQL Multi Script 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests