Always getting errors when I use filters

Memory profiling for .NET developers

Moderators: StephenC, Alex.Davies, AndrewH, melvyn.harbour

Always getting errors when I use filters

Postby FrankM » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:46 pm

Good day,

When I try to use most filters (Show Only, Common Leak Indicators, etc.), I simply get an error message.

Here's one of the exceptions I get:

Specified argument was out of the range of valid values.Parameter name: objId
System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
at aX.ReferencesForObject(Int32 objId)
at dx.<get_References>d__0.MoveNext()
at cJ.<CalculateMembers>d__0.MoveNext()
at cC.a()
at cC.IndexOf(Int32 item)
at cC.Contains(IObject obj)
at cK.<GetEnumerator>d__0.MoveNext()
at cB.<GetEnumerator>d__0.MoveNext()
at bq.FlattenSet(IObjectSet set)
at bc.FlattenSet(IObjectSet set)
at cW.Select(IGraphAnalysis analysis, IComparisonAnalysis comparison)
at cy.Select(IGraphAnalysis analysis, IComparisonAnalysis comparison)
at cW.Select(IGraphAnalysis analysis, IComparisonAnalysis comparison)
at e.a(IFilterPanelState , ChosenInClassGraph , IGraphAnalysis , ISnapshotComparison , Boolean )
at RedGate.Memory.Controller.ControllerState.ControllerState.get_FilteredCurrentObjects()
at RedGate.Memory.Controller.ControllerState.ControllerState.get_CategorisedCurrentObjects()
at x.b(Object , GenericEventArgs`1 )
at System.EventHandler`1.Invoke(Object sender, TEventArgs e)
at i.a(StateUpdateType )
at i.a(ControllerState )
at w.a(Object , GenericEventArgs`1 )
at W.<>c__DisplayClass3.<.ctor>b__1()
at O.b()


So I basically can't use any of the filters...

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Frank[/url]
FrankM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:44 pm

Postby StephenC » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:56 am

Hi Frank,

what type of application are you profiling?

Stephen
StephenC
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Cambridge

Postby FrankM » Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:47 pm

Hi,

It is a .NET 3.1 SP1 WPF user interface application which, in the screen I am profiling, uses sockets to receive frequent updates from a server.

Thanks
FrankM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:44 pm

Postby StephenC » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:12 pm

Hi Frank,

I've sent you an email with some information about this problem if you could let me know if it works.

I'll post further on here if this problem is diagnosed.

Stephen
StephenC
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Cambridge

Postby StephenC » Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:20 pm

The solution to this was that the application is using a GC server mode with the following in the .config file:

<gcServer enabled="true"/>

Commenting this out so it would use the default setting made the filters work in this case.

It's similar to the issue posted in another topic:
http://www.red-gate.com/messageboard/vi ... php?t=9585

Stephen
StephenC
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Cambridge


Return to ANTS Memory Profiler Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests