SQL Prompt 6.4 beta (Now closed)

Provides intelligent code completion for SQL Server editors.

Moderators: Anu Deshpande, Aaron Law, David Priddle

Postby KevinGreiner » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:09 pm

Also, "run current statement" (shift-F5) seems broken now.

With only a single statement in a file, it selected all but the last 2 characters. I can send a screenshot if needed.
KevinGreiner
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:38 pm
Location: United States

Postby Aaron Law » Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:43 am

I've put attempt #2 up, hopefully this is 99.9% perfect ;) it'll still move the cursor if it's in the middle of a load of whitespace that changes as it doesn't have a reference point, but hopefully it's a rare enough case not to bother you too much!

Shift+F5 should be fixed now too.

The options window closing is very odd - I can't recreate it here, even on slow VMs. On closing the options form Prompt will try to save out the options to their xml files. Do you have your settings files saving anywhere out of the ordinary (e.g. a network drive) or have you remapped your localappdata directory? I'm wondering if this is somehow related to the slowdown you were seeing with the refresh - is that still occurring?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Re:

Postby dbbishop » Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:25 pm

David Priddle wrote:Hi dbbishop,

We'll have this out later this week.

Best regards,

David

Cool. I have been thinking a bit more on it. I notice that when you right-click in the SSMS query window, there are the options to run current statement or run current batch. Might be overloading to have options to "run to cursor" and "run current batch to cursor". Not sure if there are enough keys on the keyboard to include shortcuts for them using the F5 key (there is still shift-ctrl-F5. I guess there is shift-ctrl-alt-F5 :-) ).
dbbishop
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:50 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Postby Aaron Law » Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:10 pm

Hi dbbishop,

Execute to cursor should be in the latest beta build (6.4.0.300). It's bound to Ctrl+Shift+F5 - you're right that we're running out of space/keyboard shortcuts for all these commands! :)

We decided it was getting a little bit too cluttered on the right click menu with all these in there, so we've just left execute current statement there and the rest are as keyboard shortcuts.
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Intellisense on other databases not coming up

Postby nigeltrevor » Tue Jul 22, 2014 10:55 am

Hi there, on the 6.4 beta, intellisense seems to not come up for "external" databases without an owner supplied

select * from [table_name] comes up correctly
select * from [database_name].[owner].[table_name] comes up correctly
select * from [database_name]..[table_name] is not recognised at all, but used to work in 6.3

Is this a known issue?

Thanks
nigeltrevor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:28 pm

Postby Aaron Law » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:15 am

Hi nigeltrevor,

We did put in a fix for resolving the double dot syntax to the default schema so this could have been a knock on from that. For the very basic case of a default schema of dbo it seems to be working for me at the moment:
Image

Could you check what result you get back if you run SELECT SCHEMA_NAME(); both on the external database and the current database?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Re:

Postby nigeltrevor » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:27 am

Aaron Law wrote:Could you check what result you get back if you run SELECT SCHEMA_NAME(); both on the external database and the current database?


I get "NULL"

Image
nigeltrevor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:28 pm

Postby Aaron Law » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:37 am

Thanks!

NULL should be defaulting to dbo, and just to double check do you get different suggestions if you have:

select * from [database_name].[dbo].<cursor here>
compared to
select * from [database_name]..<cursor here>
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Re:

Postby nigeltrevor » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:43 am

No probs

Aaron Law wrote:select * from [database_name].[dbo].<cursor here>


I get the normal list of tables if I do this (works as expected)

Aaron Law wrote:select * from [database_name]..<cursor here>


I only get the prompt for snippets here

Image
nigeltrevor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:28 pm

Postby Aaron Law » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:46 am

Very strange,
I'm still not able to recreate it here but I'll have a look through the code and see if I can figure out why they would differ. Thanks for reporting it!
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Postby KevinGreiner » Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:59 pm

Confirmed that "Format SQL" doesn't move the cursor anymore except when in the middle of several lines of white space which is fine. Don't know why I didn't report this months ago! Thanks for fixing this!

Confirmed that Shift-F5 is fixed as well.

The options window closes fine now. It may have been related to several slow network drives that I use via a VPN. I've noticed file save/open dialogs responding slowly in other apps as well. A reboot fixed the problem.
KevinGreiner
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:38 pm
Location: United States

Postby Aaron Law » Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:07 pm

Hi nigeltrevor,

Could you give the latest beta (6.4.0.397) a try and see if it fixes the missing suggestions with a double dot for you?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Re:

Postby nigeltrevor » Sun Aug 03, 2014 8:41 pm

Aaron Law wrote:Could you give the latest beta (6.4.0.397) a try and see if it fixes the missing suggestions with a double dot for you?


Hi Aaron, yes this fix has done the job - intellisense across databases now works as before and as expected.

Many thanks!

Nigel
nigeltrevor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:28 pm

Download of latest release fails... [red herring]

Postby jsreynolds1 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:36 pm

The latest Aug 1 release .zip file seems to be corrupted. I can get many other zip files to extract fine, but not this one.

<<<EDIT>>>

Let me answer my own question: Avast was stopping it (blindly and silently due to my settings) from extracting. I had to disable Avast for 10 minutes in order to install. The extraction and installation went fine thereafter.
jsreynolds1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:03 pm

Postby KevinGreiner » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:41 pm

Found a new problem although it may not be with SQL Prompt.

In Snippet Manager, edit a snippet. Then click "Find out more" at the bottom of the form. I get a new browser window with a 404 page.
KevinGreiner
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:38 pm
Location: United States

PreviousNext

Return to SQL Prompt 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests