Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet?

Provides intelligent code completion for SQL Server editors.

Moderators: Anu Deshpande, Aaron Law, David Priddle

Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet?

Postby pvanhouse » Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:32 pm

I have many snippets where input is required. Is there a way to automate the ctrl-shift-m to open the prompt popup?

I am coming from dbForge, which integrated snippets and input without a separate pop-up screen.
Paul Van House
pvanhouse
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:29 pm

Postby Aaron Law » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:35 pm

Hi Paul,
This makes sense to me. Do you think this should be optional behaviour or should we automatically detect parameters and popup anytime they are inside a snippet?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet?

Postby pvanhouse » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:01 pm

I would never assume everybody wants a feature. I think it would have to be an option to auto-open the prompt box...but only auto-open if there are parameters present.
Paul Van House
pvanhouse
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:29 pm

Automate ctrl-shift-m after Snippet?

Postby pvanhouse » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:05 pm

Or instead of an option, perhaps some sort of indicator within the snippet like *AUTOPOP*
Paul Van House
pvanhouse
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:29 pm

Postby David Atkinson » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:52 pm

Can you think of a situation in which you wouldn't want a parameterized snippet to pop up the dialog?
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby pvanhouse » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:54 pm

I can't think of one, but in the past I've added what seemed like no-brainer user requests/features to software only to have to pull back and make them optional.

In this instance If it were just me I would always have the box pop up if there are parameters present. (Seems like a no-brainer :oops: )
Paul Van House
pvanhouse
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:29 pm

Postby David Atkinson » Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:02 pm

I'm inclined to agree. However, if this were a no-brainer, why wouldn't Microsoft have implemented it this way? I guess it could always be implemented without an option, and we'll quickly find out if this falls short of expectations!
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby Aaron Law » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:15 pm

The 6.3 beta should have this feature in if you'd like to give it a go.

Thanks,
Aaron.
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Postby David Atkinson » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:24 pm

Works really well for me! Thanks :)
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby chal3oye » Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:02 am

I've added what seemed like no-brainer user requests/features to software only to have to pull back and make them optional.
chal3oye
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:31 am

Re:

Postby David Atkinson » Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:10 am

chal3oye wrote:I've added what seemed like no-brainer user requests/features to software only to have to pull back and make them optional.


Do you think that this should also be an option?
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase


Return to SQL Prompt 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests