where do i drop my PreDeploy.ps1

Automated deployment for web applications and databases

Moderators: Mike Upton, justin.caldicott, Sean.newham, csmith, chirayu, DavidSimner, david.conlin

where do i drop my PreDeploy.ps1

Postby richie4444 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:25 pm

I've read the documentation but I can't figure out where the \"root of the nuget feed\" is exactly. I'm not that familiar with nuget.

I've used the default installations for deployment manager. Can you give me an example of where i would drop by \"predeploy.ps1\" file? Thanks.
richie4444
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:21 pm

Postby james.billings » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:32 pm

You can think of a nuget package as a little like a zip file- it's basically a container.

As for your powershell file; it would be helpful to know how you're creating your nuget package, and the type of application you're packaging up.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby richie4444 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:46 pm

I'm using the deployment manager add-in for visual studio 2012
richie4444
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:21 pm

Postby richie4444 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:47 pm

The type of project is a asp.net web application
richie4444
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:21 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:09 am

OK, so you should be fine to add your .ps1 script to your solution, set the build action as 'Content'. Then, when you run the packaging add-in your script should be correctly included.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby richie4444 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:10 pm

Where exactly do I add my script
richie4444
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:21 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:22 pm

In Visual Studio, just add a new file to your project. It's probably easier to create \"PreDeploy.ps1\" using Notepad, drop it into your project folder, and then in VS, right click your project, select \"Add\", then \"Existing Item\", and pick the file.
Ensure the build action on the properties is \"Content\" and then when you run the packaging tool, it'll be included.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.


Return to Deployment Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests