How do I setup project to point to another database?

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, Lionel, Emma A, sherr

How do I setup project to point to another database?

Postby sgehret » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:58 pm

Hi,

I know the project can be easily changed, but I have a project with dozens of embedded SQL Statements that have the database name in it. So I can point the project to another database, but I have to go into each field that does a SQL Statement and change the database name. There has to be an easier way to do this. We have the need to point the same project and run for hundreds of databases.

Thanks,
Scott
sgehret
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:01 pm
Location: United States

Postby Manfred.Castro » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:01 pm

You can open the .sqlgen file in notepad and perform a find and replace for the database.
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Manfred.Castro
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:49 pm

Postby sgehret » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:15 pm

Thanks much for the info. So I guess that means there is no way to do it from within the tool itself. Is that something that may be added later?

Thanks,
Scott
sgehret
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:01 pm
Location: United States

Postby Manfred.Castro » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:25 pm

There is no way currently to do it within the application.
I have logged a feature request for you under the internal reference number of SDG-1023
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Manfred.Castro
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:49 pm

Postby sgehret » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:26 pm

Hi,

Thanks very much.

Scott
sgehret
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:01 pm
Location: United States


Return to SQL Data Generator 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests