Compare with Source Control

Automate and integrate using the SQL comparison API

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, Michelle Taylor, chengvoon.tong

Compare with Source Control

Postby frose » Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:00 pm

Hi,
I currently have a great VB.Net SQL Comparison SDK app that runs every night comparing and syncing our QA "Client" databases with a "Standard" QA Database.

We're now moving our team over to using RG's Source control, Method:Dedicated database development & TFS.

We're now "Dreaming" that we may be able sync all our Client DBs directly from "Checked In" code held in source control.

I've updated my VB.Net App to use V10 of the SDK.

Trouble is I'm struggling to see how I can replicate a comparison "Source"
To be "Source Control" , "Direct From Source Control", "Repository.....", "Version Latest....."
Or in other words load the staging database from source control
Is this possible?
Cheers
frose
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:13 am

Postby Chris Auckland » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:08 pm

Thanks for your post and sorry fort he delay.

I'm afraid this isn't possible at the moment. The API register method doesn't accept the parameter you would need to do this, but hopefully it will be added in a future release.

It would be great if you could add the suggestion to our uservoice site, so other users can vote for it as well.

http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/141 ... uggestions

Thanks,
Chris
Chris Auckland
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:12 pm
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.


Return to SQL Comparison SDK 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests