Why I have to restart?

DTS Package Compare 2

Why I have to restart?

Postby rdobrich » Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:18 pm

I just install DTS compare.
Why I have to restart my computer after instalation.

I have allready instal SQl compare (beta version) and I don't have to restart my computer.
rdobrich
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:43 pm

Postby Dan J Archer » Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:50 pm

Dear rdobrich,

Most users shouldn't have to restart; that's certainly not our intention with the installer.

If you needed a new version of Windows Installer, that can cause a restart.

Also the beta install did install an Installshield Updater component. I haven't checked this in detail, but I'm guessing this could have resulted in an unnecessary reset being required. We're not including this in the install for the final release of DTS Package Compare 2.0 as it's redundant (not to say irritating) as we have our own Check for Updates mechanism within DTS Package Compare.

Thanks,

Dan
Dan J Archer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Red Gate Software


Return to DTS Package Compare 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron