Installing SQl monitor 2.0

SQL Server performance monitoring and alerting

Moderators: eddie davis, priyasinha, Adam, chriskelly, Chris Lambrou, Chris Spencer

Installing SQl monitor 2.0

Postby teju_desai » Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:20 am

Hi,
I am trying to install the SQL monitor 2 on my local computer in order to monitor the sql server which is on different machine. Basically, we have one physical machine over which there 3 virtual servers(IIS,SQL, PHP/APACHE).

At present when i monitor SQL server from my local computer which is a desktop , it would throw Connection Failed cannot connect error.

If i want to install sql monitor on the virtual server and use the existing web server and install base monitor on the sql monitor, could you provide clear steps for the installation.

Many Thanks,
teju_desai
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:11 am

Postby Chris Spencer » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:16 pm

Hi

When you say "install base monitor on the sql monitor" do you mean "install base monitor on the sql server"? We'd normally recommend that the base monitor is installed on a dedicated machine.

Are you able to connect to the SQL Server from your local machine using Management Studio?

The main installation guide can be found here:
http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/C ... 141887.htm

Regards
Chris
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Chris Spencer
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

SQL monitor

Postby teju_desai » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:20 pm

Hi ,
Yes, on the sql server(base monitor). I can connect to the sql server fine with the management studio.
I have used your test guide all the options until WMI works. But when i try to test the WMI , it returns an Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070776).
I am not sure how to proceed after this.
Many Thanks,
Teju
teju_desai
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:11 am

Postby Chris Spencer » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:38 pm

It might be that WMI isn't working due to the monitored server being behind a NAT.
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums ... 554b6b630/

If you've seen our 'testing data collection methods page' then you've probably seen the link to Microsoft's WMI troubleshooting page
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 06382.aspx

The base monitor service can potentially use a lot of cpu so it should only be put on the SQL Server machine if it's not too busy. If you're only monitoring the one server though I think it will be fine. The cpu usage of the service is proportional to the number of servers being monitored.

Hope this helps
Chris
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Chris Spencer
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge


Return to SQL Monitor 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests