Suggestion: Map objects

Forum for users of SQL Compare schema synchronization utility

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson

Suggestion: Map objects

Postby paulo.morgado » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:36 pm

In SQL Data Compare I can map owners and objects.

In SQL Compare I can only map owners.

It would be nice to be able to map objects in SQL Compare like it is possible in SQL Data Compare
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
paulo.morgado
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Portugal

Postby David Atkinson » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:18 pm

This is something we've been hoping to do for a while, but unfortunately it keeps missing the cut. Could you describe the use case in which this would be useful to you?

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby paulo.morgado » Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:41 am

I ave an application that has a configuration database (menu items, settings, etc.)

In my development machine my database has a differente schema from the QA (and production) database.

The MyTable in QA is the MyTable view on my machine that joins data from MyTableQA (replica of QA's MyTable) and MyTableLocal (local overrides).

This way, I can keep all APIs (SPs, services, etc.) in sync with QA.

Everytime I need to use my local database, I only have to sync with QA, which SQL Data Compares does nicelly.
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
paulo.morgado
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Portugal

Postby David Atkinson » Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:29 am

A workaround would be to compare two views that you create specifically for the comparison. These just need to select from the appropriate tables. As the views would belong to the same schema and have the same name, SQL Compare will map them.

Would this work for you?

David
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby paulo.morgado » Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:46 am

No, because I don't want to compare data - SQL Data Compare does a very good job at that.

I want to compare "equal" tables that just happen to have different names.

Can I map Schema1 in one database to both Schema1 and Schema2 in another? I could live with tables with the same name in another schema.
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
paulo.morgado
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Portugal

Postby David Atkinson » Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:53 am

Good question. It might work. Please try to map the schemas using the Owner Mapping tab in the Project Configuration dialog and let us know if this doesn't work for you.

David
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby paulo.morgado » Tue Feb 22, 2011 5:36 pm

Nope. I would need to map more than one schem on my local database to the same schema on the QA database.
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
paulo.morgado
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Portugal

Re:

Postby wibblemonkey » Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:29 pm

David Atkinson wrote:This is something we've been hoping to do for a while, but unfortunately it keeps missing the cut. Could you describe the use case in which this would be useful to you?


David,

I think what I describe here might be a valid use case for this functionality:

http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/vi ... hp?t=14063

Thanks
wibblemonkey
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:00 pm

Postby David Atkinson » Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:38 am

The SQL Compare 9.5 Beta now has table and column mapping. More information here:

http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/vi ... hp?t=14113

David
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase


Return to SQL Compare Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests