SQL Data Compare 8.1.0.4 generates script with syntax errors

Compares and synchronizes SQL database content.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, richardjm, david connell

SQL Data Compare 8.1.0.4 generates script with syntax errors

Postby scottdavidnelson » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:28 pm

I've had a few occurrences where SDC generates scripts (large scripts) with syntax errors in them. The syntax errors display after part of the script has executed.

E.g., after ~44,000 rows have been inserted, it displays this error:

Error occurred executing synchronization:
Incorrect syntax near 'GO'.
Incorrect syntax near 'GO'.
Incorrect syntax near 'GO'.
Incorrect syntax near 'GO'.
Incorrect syntax near 'GO'.
The variable name '@pv' has already been declared. Variable names must be unique within a query batch or stored procedure.
Incorrect syntax near '('.

is there a fix available for this issue?
scottdavidnelson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:45 pm

Postby Chris Auckland » Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:10 pm

Thanks for your post.

I believe this issue only occurs when using the 'split transactions' option.

It should be fixed in the latest cumulative patch, found here

This fix isn't mentioned in the list of fixes, but that's only because it was originally reported as a SQL Packager problem. (SQL Packager uses the SQL Data Compare engine for the data part)
Chris
Chris Auckland
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:12 pm
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

Postby jcollum » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:50 pm

Nope, this is happening for me and the Split Transactions was turned off. In my case I'm moving about 400k rows and seeing syntax errors. Which is really frustrating because these scripts take a long time to run. I'll try that patch if it continues.
jcollum
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 12:11 am

Syntax error in DC 8.1.1.19

Postby ahmannj » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:53 pm

I just saw a similar syntax error doing a data sync (single table) with 8.1.1.19. 10M rows of random names and addresses generated by SQL Data Generator - nothing fancy.

I had seen similar issues in previous version, usually recompare and resync worked after the initial failed attempt. This last time, I just used SQL's import wizard to copy the data, rather than retry via DC.
ahmannj
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA

Postby kalam » Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:16 am

I have same problem with 9.0.0.117 while trying to sync 40k rows...
kalam
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:11 am

Postby Chris Auckland » Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:34 am

Thanks for posting.

We've reproduced this issue in tests now, so we should have a fix fairly soon.
Chris
Chris Auckland
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:12 pm
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

Postby james.billings » Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:13 pm

A patch to address this issue is now available here

Could you please let us know if this fixes the problem?
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby Adam Hodge » Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:54 pm

Thanks for sharing the info with us! Just what need! I have the same problem with 9.0.0.117.
Adam Hodge
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:53 pm


Return to SQL Data Compare Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests