Merge assembly wrong if its class is used in attribute.

.NET obfuscator and automated error reporting

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, Alex.Davies, melvyn.harbour

Merge assembly wrong if its class is used in attribute.

Postby mousehuang » Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:12 am

Have one assembly ClassLibrary1:
Code: Select all
namespace ClassLibrary1
{
    public class ClassA
    {
    }

    public class ClassB
    {
    }
}

And another assembly ClassLibrary2:
Code: Select all
namespace ClassLibrary2
{
    [System.ComponentModel.LicenseProvider(typeof(ClassLibrary1.ClassB))]
    [System.ComponentModel.TypeConverter(typeof(ClassLibrary1.ClassA))] //PROBLEM! It still reference to the old ClassLibrary1.   
    public class Class1
    {
       
        public void Method1()
        {
            Type t = typeof(ClassLibrary1.ClassA); //OK! It reference to the new merged class in ClassLibrary2           
            ClassLibrary1.ClassB b = new ClassLibrary1.ClassB();
            Console.WriteLine(t.ToString());
        }
    }
}

ClassLibrary1 is referenced by ClassLibrary2. I tried to merge ClassLibrary1 into ClassLibrary2. The build is successful. The type "ClassLibrary1.ClassA" used in the Method1 reference to the new merged class in new ClassLibrary2. It is OK. But the type "ClassLibrary1.ClassA" used in the TypeConverterAttribute still reference to the old ClassLibrary1. Enven if its name is obfuscated to the new merged class in new ClassLibrary2. It is wrong.
This problem occurs after upgrating from {SA} 3 to {SA} 5.5. Is it a problem or some settings I should take care are missing?
mousehuang
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:44 am

Postby Chris.Allen » Thu Nov 18, 2010 6:19 pm

I'm sorry - I'm a little bit confused- are you showing the code before it gets processed or after (i.e. the Reflector output)?

If its before the porcesing- why are you using the TypeConvertor attributes and how exactly are you expecting smartassembly to deal with them?
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm

Postby mousehuang » Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:24 am

The code is before obfuscate. Since the ClassLibrary1 is merged to ClassLibrary2, the code of problem line after obfuscate should be: (if ClassLibrary1.ClassA is renamed to "CL1.CA"):
[System.ComponentModel.TypeConverter(typeof([ClassLibrary2:]CL1.CA))].
But now it is:
[System.ComponentModel.TypeConverter(typeof([ClassLibrary1:]CL1.CA))]
Do you notice the problem. The class name changes to "CL1.CA", but the referenced assembly is still ClassLibrary1. It should reference to the new ClassLibrary2, since the class is merged to it.

BTW, the TypeConvertorAttribute is used for design time support.
mousehuang
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:44 am

Postby Chris.Allen » Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Thank you for the extra clarification- I am going to have to ask for help from one of our experts- please wait while I do this...
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm

Postby Chris.Allen » Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:35 pm

Looks like this is just not yet supported- sorry. I will log a bug and this will get seen to at some point (I cannot be specific about when).
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm

Postby mousehuang » Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:34 am

Thanks for you reply. Waiting...
mousehuang
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:44 am

Postby Chris.Allen » Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:53 pm

Looks like we fixed it straight away. Please test with our early access release (installs side-by-side with current version):

http://www.red-gate.com/messageboard/vi ... hp?t=12254
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm

Postby mousehuang » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:15 am

It works now. Thanks for you effort. It is noticed that the new version is 6.0. When will the 6.0 be released to public? We had just bought the server license for 5.5, is that license working for 6.0?
mousehuang
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:44 am

Postby Chris.Allen » Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:16 pm

It should be publically available in January (sorry, can't be more specific). The version 5 license won't apply but if you have a current maintenance contact we will create a new code for you.
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm


Return to SmartAssembly 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests