Repository IP Address Issue

Monitor, diagnose and receive alerts to problems across your SQL Servers.

Moderators: eddie davis, david connell, dlkj, Colin Millerchip, priyasinha, Emma A

Repository IP Address Issue

Postby dylanfinney » Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:00 pm

Hello,

I'm having a strange issue where I cannot connect to my running repository. The service is running and I installed the client on the machine and verified that I could connect locally, however across the network did not work.

After attempting to connect again I got the error message saying that it could not connect to the machine, however the IP address it was using was incorrect. So after I manually put in the IP address into the text box labeled "Server where Alert Repository is installed:", it failed again saying it couldn't connect to the incorrect IP again! It wasn't even trying the IP that I put in the text box! What's wrong?
dylanfinney
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:04 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Postby dylanfinney » Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:12 pm

Images are worth a thousand words, here's a screen cap.

Image
dylanfinney
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:04 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Postby Chris Auckland » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:55 pm

Can you confirm that the public card, i.e. the one that you are trying to connect to, is the top binding card.

To find this, go to the machine that the alert repository is on and go to Network Connecitons > Advanced (along top menu bar) > Advanced Settings.

SQL Response automatically looks for the top card, therefore if the card that you are connecting to isn't at the top then you will have issues.

I hope this helps.
Chris
Chris Auckland
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:12 pm
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

Postby dylanfinney » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:31 pm

Yep, that fixed it. Maybe we can add to the list of changes for 2.0 that it will connect to the IP that resolves or the IP given instead of doing it's own thinking on the subject :?
dylanfinney
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:04 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Postby rlanard » Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:52 pm

If you have other services that are dependent on binding order, you can stop the service, change the binding order, start the service again then change the binding order back. everytime you reboot :D
rlanard
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:44 pm


Return to SQL Response 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests