proxy settings

Forum for users of ANTS web server load testing tool

Moderator: Brian Donahue

proxy settings

Postby anandaraj » Wed May 17, 2006 3:00 pm

guys,
for testing of web services using ants load, do we have to use a proxy server?? or can we test a web service without the need of a proxy server??
if a proxy server is needed, do provide the ( LAN )proxy settings that we have to provide in the tools -> internet options -> lan settings
do reply me immediately...
anandaraj
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:21 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu May 18, 2006 6:11 pm

Hello,

As a matter of fact, I think a proxy would be detrimental to the load test. At any rate, load testing through a proxy wouldn't be too beneficial because you would be proving that you have a well-designed proxy more than you have a well-designed website at the other end of it!
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby anandaraj » Fri May 19, 2006 5:44 am

so its better if we don't use a proxy server while we are testing web services......please correct me if am wrong...
anandaraj
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:21 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Fri May 19, 2006 5:05 pm

No, don't use a proxy server. It probably isn't going to work.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to ANTS Load

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron