BLOB showing up as changed even though no changes

Compares and synchronizes SQL database content.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, Michelle Taylor, chengvoon.tong

BLOB showing up as changed even though no changes

Postby planetawylie » Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:32 pm

Hi,

When I compare 2 tables for changes, the BLOB data is compared and shows up in the final output script sql as an UPDATE, even though nothing changed.

What would cause this to happen? How is the BLOB compare done...is it because the actual storage of the BLOB data is slightly different in one database to the next.

Thanks, Andrew
planetawylie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:09 pm

Postby eddie davis » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:32 pm

Thank you for your support request.

A support call has been created for you HERE. (You may need to create a RedgateID to be able to view and update it.)

Can you please update the call or send an email to [support@red-gate.com] quoting call reference #24022, with an example of what you are experiencing?

Please check to see if you have the 'Trim trailing spaces' option selected or enabled? Edit project ->Options tab ->Comparison Behavior section ->Trim trailing white space.

Many Thanks
Eddie
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
eddie davis
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Red Gate Software

Re:

Postby planetawylie » Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:41 pm

eddie davis wrote:Thank you for your support request.

A support call has been created for you HERE. (You may need to create a RedgateID to be able to view and update it.)

Can you please update the call or send an email to [support@red-gate.com] quoting call reference #24022, with an example of what you are experiencing?

Please check to see if you have the 'Trim trailing spaces' option selected or enabled? Edit project ->Options tab ->Comparison Behavior section ->Trim trailing white space.

Many Thanks
Eddie


Hi,

I already have the 'Trim trailing white space' option selected. And what would need to be uploaded to the support team, two blobs that were compared? If so, I'll need to anonymize everything in it first.

Thanks, Andrew
planetawylie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:09 pm


Return to SQL Data Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron