No Intellisense after temporary mistake

Provides intelligent code completion for SQL Server editors.

Moderators: Anu Deshpande, Aaron Law, David Priddle

No Intellisense after temporary mistake

Postby buckley » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:54 pm

Another report. I keep them coming if you don't mind

====
DROP TABLE Temp
CREATE TABLE Temp (col1 INT)

SELECT
*
FROM
Temp t
WHERE
1 = 1
AND t. -- *
AND t.col1 = 6
AND t. -- no intellisense
====


The reason is the error in the line marked with *

That's understandable and now that I use prompt a few weeks I know how to correct it. But that's after a few weeks. Of course I thought (without good reason!) prompt was malfunctioning.

It's arguable that prompt can be made more robust against these errors because they come in many forms and are make up the most part (80-90%) of cases where I expect prompt to give it suggestions but doesn't.

I leave it to you of course if you think this should be in scope. I think a competitor highlights syntax errors in real time which can help the user to correct his statement before executing.
If I format the sql with prompt the red scribbles also show where the syntax error is. So prompt has the capability but does not show it real time.
buckley
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby Aaron Law » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:49 am

I think this is a common enough use case that we want to fix it, and it looks like a single fix could resolve all 3 of your posts.

For the error highlighting, interestingly enough it looks like there's a option for it by changing MarkSyntaxErrors to true in "%localappdata%/Red Gate/SQL Prompt 6/RedGate_SQLPrompt_CommonUI_Options_UIOptions.xml". I guess we never got the feature to a state where we were happy enough with it to expose it through the UI, but you can give it a go if you'd like?
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software

Postby buckley » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:07 pm

Good news you think fix will take care of all. Let me know if you need a tester
buckley
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby buckley » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:17 pm

I'm currently developing with the feature enabled. First impression is that its helpful and working as expected. I'm curious if its scales and keeps on behaving. I'll report back.
buckley
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby buckley » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:18 pm

fixed with build 6.3.0.235. Thanks Aaron!
buckley
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby buckley » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:26 pm

The last month or so I have been using prompt with the "show errors" feature enabled.

It helps in quit a few situations and it performed well.
Observing the part that was highlighted helped me to see a problem before executing the query( like resharper if you use Visual Studio) and thats a real productivity boost. It also made me see why prompt could not provide suggestions with intellisense giving the user a clue as to why the tool behaves a certain way.

A quick win to make it more attractive / less intrusive : only put red squiggles on non whitespace characters. If you have big sql statement it sometimes takes the whole screen with the squiggles.

Example image http://postimg.org/image/ma915t5cx/
Last edited by buckley on Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
buckley
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby Aaron Law » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:43 pm

Thanks for the feedback :) I agree that the whitespace being highlighted isn't particularly helpful and looks pretty ugly. I'll have a look into seeing if we can restrict the squiggles to non-whitespace characters (or at least trim the start/end of each line)
Aaron Law
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:56 am
Location: Red Gate Software


Return to SQL Prompt 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests