Automate commandline tool using a project

Compares and synchronizes SQL database content.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, Michelle Taylor, chengvoon.tong

Automate commandline tool using a project

Postby kdixon » Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:52 pm

I am attempting to keep a reporting database in sync with our production database. There are about 13 tables, most without PK's, and require a custom key, made of several fields, for comparison. To try and simplify this, I have created a project that includes the requirements and works great to sync the tables manually. But, it does not work when running it from the command line. It appears to do the comparison, but it does not run the update. What am I missing?

I'm currently using the the following syntax:
"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Red Gate\\SQL Data Compare 10\\sqldatacompare.exe" /Project:"c:\\DTS Executables\\RedgateScripts\\MyProject.sdc" /include:identical

Thanks in advance.
kdixon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:41 pm

Postby Manfred.Castro » Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:07 pm

I believe you are missing the synchronize switch.

/Synchronize

Alias: /sync

Deploys the data after comparison.


http://documentation.red-gate.com/displ ... mmand+line

You command will become

"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Red Gate\\SQL Data Compare 10\\sqldatacompare.exe" /Project:"c:\\DTS Executables\\RedgateScripts\\MyProject.sdc" /include:identical /sync
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Manfred.Castro
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:49 pm

Postby kdixon » Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:17 pm

Awesome! I knew it was something simple I was missing. I'll add that and give it a go.

Thanks for the quick reply.
kdixon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:41 pm


Return to SQL Data Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests