Comparing Revision1 with Revision2 to compare static data

Compares and synchronizes SQL database content.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, Michelle Taylor, chengvoon.tong

Comparing Revision1 with Revision2 to compare static data

Postby ax4413 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:19 pm

Hi,

Can any one help me. I am trying to compare the data of two revisions of my source controlled database. The background to this; is that I am trying to compare static data in a particular way. I am using xml to specify the command line arguments to define this comparison. I am calling sql data compare withe the following code:

Code: Select all
SQLDataCompare.exe /argfile:C:\\temp\\DataCompareArgs.xml /verbose


The xml syntax is below:

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<commandline>
   <scriptsfolderxml>C:\\temp\\ScriptFolderLocation.xml</scriptsfolderxml>
   <sourcecontrol1/>
   <revision1>HEAD</revision1>
   <sourcecontrol2/>
   <revision2>49</revision2>
   <!-- Include only the tables that you are intersetd in and define the comparison key you wish to compare on. Exclude the primary key for comparison -->
   <Include>Table:Foo</Include>
   <ComparisonKeys>Foo:ix_foo_some_id</ComparisonKeys>
    <ExcludeColumns>Foo:PrimaryKey</ExcludeColumns>
    <ScriptFile>C:\\temp\\DataDiff.sql</ScriptFile>   
</commandline>


On executing the the above code I get the following output:

Registering databases
Mapping
Error: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.


As you can see i am getting a object reference exception.

If i edit the args xml and replace the nodes <sourcecontrol2/><revision2>49</revision2> with <database2>Target</database2> the command will work. So the problem must persist in comparing two revisions in source control.

Any help would be greatly recieved.

Thanks
ax4413
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:14 am

Postby ax4413 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:30 pm

I decided to try and accomplish my original goal by using the UI and it does exactly what I want. But when calling it from the command line I get the same error as before Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Code: Select all
SQLDataCompare.exe /Project:'C:\\temp\\SourceTarget.sdc' /verbose


What gives???
ax4413
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:14 am

Postby Manfred.Castro » Thu Dec 12, 2013 7:28 pm

Thank you for reporting this issue to us.
I was able to reproduce this behavior and have logged this issue under the internal reference number of SDC-1678.
Unfortunately I am unable to provide a definitive timeline for when this might be fixed.
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Manfred.Castro
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:49 pm


Return to SQL Data Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest