SQL Prompt 6 stops suggesting table names

Provides intelligent code completion for SQL Server editors.

Moderators: Anu Deshpande, Aaron Law, David Priddle

SQL Prompt 6 stops suggesting table names

Postby andyhammer » Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:42 pm

In SSMS 2008, prompt will stop making table name suggestions. The drop down does not even show the tables. I always have multiple tabs open. Some tabs will work fine, others do not. Closing/opening a file does not fix the issue. The only way I have found to fix this is to restart SSMS. :(
andyhammer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:07 pm

Postby Anu Deshpande » Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:38 pm

Thanks for your post.

Can you try the latest version of SQL Prompt 6.1.0.101? Hopefully this version should sort this issue.

You can get this version by navigating to SQL Prompt --> Help --> Check for updates.

Let me know if this helps.
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Anu Deshpande
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:53 pm
Location: Cambridge

Postby andyhammer » Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:14 pm

I will install the update.
andyhammer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:07 pm

Postby pswaters » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:15 pm

I am having a very similar issue with 6.1.0.101. I am refactoring a few queries that have several joins. SQL Prompt works as expected for 6 to 12 joins, and then stops suggesting tables and columns. The queries work and SQL Prompt will format them without any errors.

If I press <crtl> - <space> I get a list of code snippets and nothing else.

Thanks.
Paul S. Waters
pswaters
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:30 pm

Postby pswaters » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:32 pm

I un-installed version 6.1.0.101 and installed version 5.2.8.2, and I still have the same issues. I am guessing that there is something in my queries that SQL Prompt does not like, but I cannot find it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Paul S. Waters
pswaters
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:30 pm

Postby pswaters » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:24 am

I am back on version 6.1.0.101 and I have a work a round for the issue. I noticed that when I deleted some comments above where IntilliPrompt stopped making suggestions for joined columns, it started to work for another join or 2. So deleted all but a couple of columns in my select statement, and now IntilliPrompt works as expected for the joins.

Is there a limit to the size of the query for intelliprompt to work?

Thanks.
Paul S. Waters
pswaters
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:30 pm

Postby Anu Deshpande » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:12 pm

If you wish to alter the behaviour of SQL Prompt where it does not suggest variables over large blocks of SQL or fails to provide help with large scripts, you can edit the RedGate_SQLPrompt_Engine_EngineOptions.xml file.

This file should be in the below location:

%USERPROFILE%\\AppData\\Local\\Red Gate\\SQL Prompt 6

The string in the file you need to edit is <ParserLookBackDistance>5000</ParserLookBackDistance><ParserLookAheadDistance>3000</ParserLookAheadDistance>

The figure detailed here is in bytes. You can increase the look back distance as much as you like. However please be aware that, depending on your hardware, there may be a considerable degradation in the performance of the tool.

Please let me know if that helps.
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Anu Deshpande
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:53 pm
Location: Cambridge


Return to SQL Prompt 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Aaron Law, kondrich and 0 guests