IIS Deployment

Automated deployment for web applications and databases

Moderators: Mike Upton, justin.caldicott, Sean.newham, csmith, chirayu, DavidSimner, david.conlin

IIS Deployment

Postby paraggadkari » Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:29 pm

Is it possible to deploy in following manner using RedGateWebSiteName?

IIS (7)
- Sites
- Default Web Site
- {Group name virtual directory}
- Web Application
paraggadkari
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: United States

Postby james.billings » Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:27 pm

Thanks for your post. Assuming you mean something like this:

Image

Then yes - in this case, the variable in Deployment Manager could be set as per the below:

Image
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby paraggadkari » Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:25 pm

Yes this is what I mean but instead of creating a new web-site I am trying to add to "Default Web Site".

Here is what I have from the logs:

2013-11-05 08:55:04 -05:00 INFO Updating IIS website Default Web Site (virtual directory: vdir/myapp). You can use the RedGateWebSiteName project variable to override an IIS site name. If you don't specify the variable, the package name is used.
2013-11-05 08:55:04 -05:00 WARN Could not find IIS website Default Web Site (virtual directory: vdir/myapp) on the local machine. You can use the RedGateWebSiteName project variable to override an IIS site name or specify a virtual directory. If you don't specify the variable, the package name is used.
2013-11-05 08:55:04 -05:00 INFO The website Default Web Site (virtual directory: vdir/myapp) has been created on port 8080. You can use the RedGateCreateWebSiteOnPort project variable to specify the port number when creating a new IIS website.

There isn't any new binding created not can I find the virtual directory.
paraggadkari
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: United States

Postby james.billings » Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:47 pm

It sounds like it should have created it - we'd probably need to see some screenshots of what's now in IIS
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby paraggadkari » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:30 pm

This is weird. I can browse to the URL, see the newly created application pool and I can see the applications as part of the pool. However, the application (or vdir) doesn't show up under Default Web Site.
paraggadkari
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: United States

Postby james.billings » Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:36 pm

Did you try forcing a refresh of the tree in IIS manager? Changes don't appear unless you right click and force it to refresh.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Re:

Postby paraggadkari » Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:03 pm

[quote="james.billings"]Did you try forcing a refresh of the tree in IIS manager? Changes don't appear unless you right click and force it to refresh.[/quote]

Yes sir, I did the refresh. I think it has to do something with the Virtual directory. The virtual directory doesn't show up on IIS and my guess is because it is either setting the physical path to null or empty. If I manually add the virtual directory post deployment the applications automagically appear under the v-dir.
paraggadkari
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: United States

Postby james.billings » Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:11 pm

OK - so to confirm, you're trying to get it to create all this from scratch, rather than update an existing vdir/application? If so, that's probably the difference from the test I ran originally. Let me know and I'll do more testing.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby Sandeep Gupta » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:23 am

i am publish the service on server using Deployment Manager and it is successfully deployed on server, but the path is incorrect, it published service not under Default Web site .

Image

Can u please tell me that how to deployed service under Default Website using Deployement Manager.
Thanks
Sandeep Gupta
Sandeep Gupta
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:17 am
Location: Jaipur,India

Postby james.billings » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:36 pm

Can you post how all your variables are configured please?
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby Sandeep Gupta » Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:16 pm

thnxs ,... i have done the issue. now all services are come under Default Web site..
Thanks
Sandeep Gupta
Sandeep Gupta
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:17 am
Location: Jaipur,India

Re:

Postby paraggadkari » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:47 pm

[quote="james.billings"]OK - so to confirm, you're trying to get it to create all this from scratch, rather than update an existing vdir/application? If so, that's probably the difference from the test I ran originally. Let me know and I'll do more testing.[/quote]

This is exactly what I am trying to do.

Regards,
PG
paraggadkari
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: United States

Postby james.billings » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:06 pm

OK, so it looks like you can specify the site or a site/vdir, but not then the application name under that - at least for creation.

So if you set the variable as "site/vdir" then we'll create the application as vdir under the default website.
It looks like you can't use all three parts "site/vdir/app"
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.


Return to Deployment Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron