Idea: Generate from column

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Lionel

Idea: Generate from column

Postby danfountain » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:12 am

Hi,

I have some tables that are not normalised correctly due to being denormalised for OLAP reasons.

So basically i would like to see a way that you can generate for instance a company name, but base it on the data already in the column. Some from of obfuscation. That way the column will still match for all the instances of the same thing.

Many thanks for your products.

Dan
danfountain
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 9:43 am

Postby Brian Donahue » Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:07 pm

Hi Dan,
This should be possible in the next data generator release (v3?). It's been a very popular suggestion to base data in one column from another generated column. For this you will be able to use a CSV of existing data or a Python script for data manipulation. Version 2 introduced Python scripts for manipulating generated data but the ability to retrieve data from another column of generated data does not exist in that version. The only immediate workaround is to compile and add a very complicated Ruby generator to SDG.

Unfortunately I don't have a firm release date for the next version as yet.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Data Generator 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests