Generate Only One Column

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, Lionel, Emma A, sherr

Generate Only One Column

Postby Miron » Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:39 pm

How can I generate only one column in a table.
I want to generate a weight list values based on ID's from other table
10nxs
Miron
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:36 pm

Postby james.billings » Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:37 pm

Hi Miron.

To generate data in just one column, you would highlight the table on the left hand side, then pick "Use existing data source" and point it at the table containing the data you want to keep in another DB.
Then, for each column, you can pick the source data to keep from the top of the "Generator" dropdown list, apart from the column you want random data for. For that column, just pick the generator you want.

The issue I think you will have is that the Weighted List generator doesn't allow you to base it on information from other columns/data - it only works with the data you put into the generator.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.


Return to SQL Data Generator 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests