Silverlight obfuscation problem

.NET obfuscator and automated error reporting

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, melvyn.harbour, dom.smith

Silverlight obfuscation problem

Postby Mikhail Girkin » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:15 pm

Hi!

I've got a problem when obfuscating Silverlight 4 solution. Our solution consist of several c# projects (~10), and the problem comes from assembly references from XAML code. If I add an assembly that is referenced from XAML to a "merge" (not really related to obfuscation itself), then Silverlight runtime could not load types from that assembly, if the assebmly doesn't included - everything goes ok.
Is there an options, or configuration section to make this stuff work, when all the asseblies in solution is merged? Or may be I didn't find the section in the documentation related to this problem?

Thanks!
Mikhail Girkin
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:54 am

Postby jessica.ramos » Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:21 pm

Thank you for your post!

If you've enabled obfuscation on your main assembly, the same settings will be applied to the merged assemblies as well. Could you kindly try excluding the types that can't be loaded from obfuscation (either through the SmartAssembly UI or using the custom attributes)?

You can try turning on error reporting to help find which types need to be excluded.

Hope that helps!
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
jessica.ramos
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:13 pm

Postby Mikhail Girkin » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:34 am

I already tried to exclude all the types from assemblies that referenced, this doesn't help.

The main problem, as I understand comes from merging assemblies. For example I have the following line of code in my XAML:

xmlns:View="clr-namespace:Insight.BaseScreen.View;assembly=Insight.BaseScreen"

I also want to obfuscate Insight.BaseScreen assembly, but if I include it in merge process, disabling every other stuff (pruning, obfuscation, etc) - Silvelight cannot load the requested types.
I could not include any single assembly in merge that is referenced from merged assembly like I shown before.
Mikhail Girkin
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:54 am

Postby jessica.ramos » Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:32 am

Sorry to hear that didn't help!

Hm, can I check--what version of SmartAssembly are you using?

Could you kindly give embedding a try (the assembly will keep its identity)?
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
jessica.ramos
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:13 pm


Return to SmartAssembly 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests