Force migration script use with SQLCompare.exe

Compares and synchronizes SQL Server databases, backups and scripts.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, eddie davis, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, alice.easey, james.billings, chengvoon.tong

Force migration script use with SQLCompare.exe

Postby Xaphan » Tue May 14, 2013 9:36 pm

I'm using SQLCompare.exe to do automated deployments from my source control to my test environment. When a deployment occurs I noticed that migration scripts that I have stored in my source control only get used if SQLCompare.exe detects a loss of data when modifying a table. I would like the migration scripts to run regardless if data loss is detected or not. Is there a way I can force SQLCompare.exe to do this?
Xaphan
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:34 pm

Postby chriskelly » Fri May 17, 2013 10:25 am

Migration scripts will always get run when a deployment includes the two revision number that the script is for. This is only not true when the option \"ignore migration scripts for databases\" is selected.

If you are positive that the behaviour you are seeing is reproducible, please can you send reproduction steps to support@red-gate.com and quote the support ticket number F0072982 in the subject line. This will allow any investigation to move forward, so please ensure that you include complete information.
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
chriskelly
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK


Return to SQL Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests