Does SQL Compare work against a db on a hosted server?

Compares and synchronizes SQL Server databases, backups and scripts.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, eddie davis, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, alice.easey, james.billings, chengvoon.tong

Does SQL Compare work against a db on a hosted server?

Postby Spud » Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:58 pm

As per the title really.

When I try to compare a database on a hosted off-site server, the database dropdown does not list available databases. This I would expect - I shouldn't be able to see other clients databases, and there was a known performance issue iterating through a huge number of databases. I can only see master, and tempdb, or have the option to Create a new one. Thus far no problem - Object Explorer in SSMS does exactly the same.

*However* , it will not let me enter the name of the database(s) that I know do exist and have access- as I use them daily and can connect to them elsewhere.

Is this a known limitation of sql compare or is there something I'm not doing correctly?

Many thanks
Spud
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Brian Donahue » Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:04 pm

Hello,


Sorry to say, I can't reproduce the issue. I can type any name I need to in the database combo box by hand. Maybe it's trying to connect to the server at the time - not sure. But normally I don't see this happening.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest