Spins infinitely Retrieving schema and Registering Databases

Compares and synchronizes SQL database content.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, Michelle Taylor, chengvoon.tong

Spins infinitely Retrieving schema and Registering Databases

Postby rvaiyapuri » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:03 am

I have a requirement like this -

I have a production database on which I have 5 major views which need to be compared against the same kind (same view structure) in the development environment.

I tried to retrieve the schema and it just keeps on spinning and I see no progress. Please let me know if the database schema are different, can't we compare specific tables and views alone with SQL Data Compare?

Please help!
rvaiyapuri
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:45 am

Postby james.billings » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:41 pm

Hi,

There's no obvious reason why it would get stuck reading the schema, but there's a couple of things to try:

- firstly, ensure you're connecting using an account with sysadmin permissions to eliminate any security problems.

- if that doesn't help, can you try SQL Compare- does that successfully read the schema or does it get stuck/crash?
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby rvaiyapuri » Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:49 pm

I tried using SQL compare and it gets stuck there as well.
rvaiyapuri
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:45 am

Postby james.billings » Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:11 pm

We'd probably need to see the database to understand why. is it possible to obtain a backup? If so, you can mail to support@red-gate.com quoting F0071697 in the subject line.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby scotteb@mindspring.com » Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:14 pm

@rvaiyapuri,

I also experienced this and was able to resolve this issue by creating a new project. My project had other symptoms of corruption, maybe your project has only a minor corruption causing this. Try creating a new project and see if it loads more quickly.

Best,
Scott
scotteb@mindspring.com
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:02 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby robinph » Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:20 am

Just to add to the post, I had the same issue. Turned out a colleague had restored the test database and wiped out my access. So, SQL Data Compare could not access the database. I needed to refresh the Logins in SQL Management Studio to see that I was no longer a user. Might also have helped if SQL Data Compare pointed this out too. Now a little bit wiser.
Robin Humberstone
robinph
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:09 am
Location: Hong Kong


Return to SQL Data Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest