specify comparison key for tbl with a PK in link static data

A SQL Server Management Studio add-in to source control your database in Subversion or Team Foundation Server.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, sherr, PhilScrace, andy.campbell.smith

specify comparison key for tbl with a PK in link static data

Postby d.roberts » Fri Feb 15, 2013 5:28 pm

I dont want to use the PK as its just an autogenerated int. I want to use 3 other fields, which I can specify in SQL Data Compare Ok.
d.roberts
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:05 pm

Postby d.roberts » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:40 am

Ok, just to clarify my meaning:

In link static data in SSMS / SQL Src Control, it doesn't give the option to specify the fields to use for the comparison key, and just uses any PK defined in the db itself.

In SQL Data Compare itself it gives the option to specify the fields.

In my particular case there is a PK used for update and delete operations, but the real unique compound keys are 3 string fields.

Is there any way I can get SSC to use these :?:
d.roberts
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:05 pm

Postby james.billings » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:18 pm

Thanks for your post.

Unfortunately I don't think it's possible to specify a custom comparison key in SQL Source Control. I'm double checking there's no workaround (I don't believe there is...) but if I do find anything I'll post back.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Custom comparison key in SQL Source Control

Postby jamesjd » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:31 pm

I would like to know if there is a workaround for this and also inform you that I have added a request for this feature to be added.

http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/390 ... ce-control

I hope to get some responses soon.
jamesjd
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:14 pm

Postby james.billings » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:07 pm

OK, I've had another chat to the development team, and unfortunately it doesn't look like this feature is likely to be implemented any time soon, as there are various other components that need work.

Our only suggested workaround would be to have a separate checkout of your repo to another folder on your PC, and sync between the DB and that folder using SQL Data Compare- you can then manually commit the data records into the repo using Visual Studio/Tortoise SVN etc.

Sorry I don't have better news on this one :(
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.


Return to SQL Source Control 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests