embedded resource not found after using RCaE option

.NET obfuscator and automated error reporting

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, melvyn.harbour, dom.smith

embedded resource not found after using RCaE option

Postby ISDeveloper » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:52 pm

I have a website .dll which has an embedded resource of a .js file. If I use the Smart Assembly option of Resources Compression and Encryption, then when the website is activated I get a message stating:

Assembly xx.xxx contains a web resource with name xxx, but does not contain an embedded resource with name xxx.

If I do not use this option, everything works fine. We want to use this option to ensure that the .js code is completely encrypted so that it can't be read.

Is there something that I might be missing?

Thanks in advance for any help.
ISDeveloper
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:44 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:36 pm

Thanks for your message relating to Smartassembly.
Could you please give an example of how you're referencing the resource in your code? If you're using any type of reflection mechanism, it won't work as the resource has been renamed.

Also, what version of Smartassembly are you using?
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby ISDeveloper » Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:44 pm

Example:

A snippet from the login .aspx:

<asp:ScriptManager ID="ScriptManager" runat="server">
<CompositeScript>
<Scripts>
<asp:ScriptReference Name="MC.WebSite.Scripts.MTJavascript.js" Assembly="MC.WebSite" />
</Scripts>
</CompositeScript>
</asp:ScriptManager>


From the .aspx.cs code-behind for the login page


protected void Page_Init(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
BtnLogin.Attributes.Add("onClick", "return MyJavascript.setBusy(30);");
}

We are running Smart Assembly version 6.70.239
ISDeveloper
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:44 pm

Postby james.billings » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:24 pm

Sorry for the delay in replying, I never got an email from the forums telling me you'd posted.

My guess would be that because you're referencing the .js by name in a string, this is incorrect due to renaming once the .js resource is embedded, as it gets renamed.

I'm not sure of any workaround for this- if you reference a resource directly in code, then Smartassembly will rewrite the reference to the new name so it works, but in your case you're accessing it via a String and I don't think we'll touch that.

I'll see if anyone knows of a workaround and update.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby ISDeveloper » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:23 pm

Thanks for the help.
ISDeveloper
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:44 pm

Postby james.billings » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:40 am

I'm not sure we have much else in the way of ideas so far; it may well be a limitation of the tool combined with your particular code. If you can create a small sample that demonstrates the issue I'm able to have a bit more of a play with it to see if there's anything else we can suggest though? If this is possible, you can mail it across to support@red-gate.com quoting F0067202 in the subject.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.


Return to SmartAssembly 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests