How to temporary disable SQL Prompt?

Provides intelligent code completion for SQL Server editors.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Paul Stephenson, Michelle Taylor, Mike Upton, justin.caldicott, Aaron Law

How to temporary disable SQL Prompt?

Postby psg1234 » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:40 pm

Hi!

Is there any way to temporary disable SQL Prompt?

In some cases I don't want to allow SQL Prompt to retrieve DB schema information and so on.
psg1234
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:35 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:52 pm

You can only disable SQL Prompt to stop it from suggesting completely. In version 4 and lower, you could exclude certain databases, but the reasoning behind that was performance-related. Since version 5 increased the performance and decreased the memory usage, it wasn't so important to exclude the databases any more.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby psg1234 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:48 pm

Thank you, Brian!

In this case I have additional questions :)

May SQL Prompt affects to SQL Server performance on high-loaded production DB? For example, because of schema locks or something like this?
psg1234
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:35 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:31 pm

I don't think so - it's only going to do select statements on the information schema tables of the database.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby Victoria » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:00 pm

I also have this question. I am using a local instance of SQL 2012 to connect to a SQL 2000 instance at a remote location using VPN. Almost every query I run gives me an error. I would like to rule out SQL Prompt as the cause of the errors, so I would like to be able to temporarily disable it. Is there any way to do this?
-Victoria
Victoria
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:56 am


Return to SQL Prompt 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests