Deploy static table data best practice

A SQL Server Management Studio add-in to source control your database in Subversion or Team Foundation Server.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, sherr, PhilScrace, andy.campbell.smith

Deploy static table data best practice

Postby greg.strauss » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:24 pm

What is the best practice for deploying static table updates from Source Control to a staging or production server?

Currently, we update the static tables on our dedicated development system and check them in successfully with SSC (we use SVN) . We now want to deploy these changes from source control to a staging server that already exists for our QA department

So, if I use SQL Data Compare and use Source Control as the source and the staging server as target, the SQL data comparison tool (by default) will try to compare all tables. Is there a way to tell SQL Data Compare to only select the statically linked tables in Source Control? I'm not sure why you'd ever want to do a full data comparison when the source is Source Control.

Also, is there a way to unify the deployment step so that both schema and data changes (in statically linked tables) can be deployed in one go? Now we have to remember to do both (SQL Compare and SQL Data Compare) for a deployment.
greg.strauss
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:10 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Postby stanori » Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:49 am

Hi gregg.strauss,

Thanks for your forumn post. In regards to your question about deploying static tables, you would typically use SQL Data Compare to deploy the changes.

In the latest build of SQL Compare (10.2.3.1.) there is a new command line switch "/include:static" which can be used to deploy static data from SQL Source Control to your target database.

Best Regards,
Steve
_________________
Steve Tanori
Product Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
866-997-0378
stanori
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:13 pm

Postby greg.strauss » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:58 pm

thx for the reply.

In SQL Compare, is there a UI equivalent to "/include:static"? In other words, can I trigger this option in the user interface someplace? I don't see this option in the "Options" tab in SQL Compare (I have 10.2.3.1).

To do a deployment, we initiate it from SSMS, so generally we are isolated from the command line.

I would suggest having this option on the "Data Sources" tab when you select "Source Control" as the Source.
greg.strauss
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:10 pm
Location: Victoria, BC


Return to SQL Source Control 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron