10.2.0.696 compression always ignored

Compares and synchronizes SQL Server databases, backups and scripts.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, eddie davis, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, alice.easey, james.billings, chengvoon.tong

10.2.0.696 compression always ignored

Postby ahribernik » Wed May 23, 2012 4:09 am

Upgraded to 10.2.0.696 and now compression seems to always be ignored regardless of the configuration setting.

source database has a table with PAGE compression on table and indexes target does not have compression.

source and target are SQL 2008 R2
red gate compare v10.2.0.696
ignore data compression is OFF
ahribernik
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 12:53 am

Postby neil.anderson » Wed May 23, 2012 11:27 am

Hi ahribernik,

Sorry you are having a problem with Compare. I've been trying to recreate the issue you are reporting but to no avail.

I've tried with the following objects:

source

CREATE TABLE T1
(c1 int, c2 nvarchar(50) )
GO

CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX IX_INDEX_1
ON T1 (C2)
GO

and target


CREATE TABLE T1
(c1 int, c2 nvarchar(50) )
WITH (DATA_COMPRESSION = PAGE);
GO

CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX IX_INDEX_1
ON T1 (C2)
WITH ( DATA_COMPRESSION = PAGE ) ;
GO


and the ignore data compression option seems to work. Can you give me a specific example?

Thanks,
Neil
neil.anderson
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:17 pm

Postby ahribernik » Thu May 24, 2012 2:56 am

Hi Niel, please try the reverse scenario with the source having compressed objects.
ahribernik
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 12:53 am

Postby neil.anderson » Thu May 24, 2012 8:22 am

Hi ahribernik,

Thanks for your response. I'm still failing to reproduce the problem.

In your scenario are you using a saved project file from the previously released version of Compare? Does the problem persist if you create a new project or do a comparison without saving it as a project?

Thanks,
Neil
neil.anderson
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:17 pm

Postby ahribernik » Fri May 25, 2012 2:34 am

Hi Niel,

I can repeat the behavior even with a new project

In an effort to provide you with a script I found out that this did not occur if i created 2 new databases and tables to compare.

I still however experience the problem with my existing database to a new target database.

Could this be a cache issue? Is it shared with SQL Source Control (I am experiencing a similar problem with that also)?
ahribernik
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 12:53 am


Return to SQL Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron