Incorrect credentials or insufficient permissions

SQL Server performance monitoring and alerting

Moderators: eddie davis, priyasinha, Adam, chriskelly, Chris Lambrou, Chris Spencer

Incorrect credentials or insufficient permissions

Postby berlington.barnett » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:21 pm

Hi.

I installed the monitor software without any problem, but when I try to register my production database sent me that message.

My production server is in a Microsoft Domain and is a remote server.

username: lticr\\bbarnett

I don't know if that problem is about how I write my user name o if I need some open port.

Please help me.

Thank you
berlington.barnett
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:16 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Postby berlington.barnett » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:22 pm

I forget that I'm using SA user to login in the database.
berlington.barnett
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:16 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Postby RBA » Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:22 am

Hi,

Please have a look at this help page for details on what ports need to be open.

The username format can be either 'domain\\uesrname' or 'username@domain.com', where the username should ideally be a domain account.

Cheers,
Robin Anderson
Development
Red-Gate Software
RBA
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Cambridge

Solved

Postby berlington.barnett » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:07 pm

Thank you for you answer, but the problem was that the software must be installed in the same network where database is and I did from a diferent network with a routed relation.

I think that this situation must be documented for the future.

Regards
berlington.barnett
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:16 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Postby RBA » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:20 pm

Hi,

Apologies for the misunderstanding.

You can use SQL Monitor from a remote location, although it will require around 10-15kB/s of bandwidth which is usually a non-issue for internal networks but can be noticeable over slow or constrained VPNs.

As for permissions, you can specify 'builtin\\administrator' with the admin password to monitor a remote machine that is off the domain.

Alternatively, you can create local user accounts with the same name and password on the machine running SQL Monitor and the production server (workgroup style).

It can be helpful in troubleshooting to test any credentials you'd like to use outside of SQL Monitor first. I.e. From the monitoring machine and try to access the admin share / remote registry / WMI of the monitored machine using the desired login details.

I'll review the documentation and see if I can ensure this scenario is covered.

Regards,
Robin Anderson
Development
Red-Gate Software
RBA
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Cambridge


Return to SQL Monitor 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest