Use migrations in get latest

A SQL Server Management Studio add-in to source control your database in Subversion or Team Foundation Server.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, sherr, PhilScrace, andy.campbell.smith

Use migrations in get latest

Postby GerbenD » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:17 pm

We have a development database per developer. When updating these databases (get latest) the migrations we created and stored in SVN are not being executed. How can I use the migrations in our development area?

Gerben
GerbenD
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:12 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:41 pm

Apparently, migrations scripts are meant to run through Source Control too. All we can think of is that the migrations scripts didn't actually commit to begin with.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby GerbenD » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:22 pm

Currently there is a conversation between redgate en me about the problem. It seems the creation of a developmentbranche in svn and/or disconnecting and connecting to that branche have some impact. In a simple testsituation I saw the migration being used by GetLatest.

When we have a solution I will post an update.
GerbenD
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:12 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:02 pm

Hello,

I've got it reproduced and I'll try to find the cause tomorrow and let everyone know.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby Brian Donahue » Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:34 am

I think it's because the current revision is actually stored in the database... say your migration script is set to run when updating rev 6 to rev 7 and your database is currently at rev 9, then the script will not run.

If you do:
Code: Select all
SELECT objtype, objname, name, value
FROM fn_listextendedproperty(default, default, default, default, default, default, default);


Then this will tell you the current revision number. If you had linked to one repository that was at v9, for instance, and then linked to another repository at a lower rev, the changes don't seem to get pushed. I think this is the reason why the docs say to create a new database when you're branching.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Source Control 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest