Can I synchronise SQL Database while it is in Replication?

Compares and synchronizes SQL Server databases, backups and scripts.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, eddie davis, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, alice.easey, james.billings, chengvoon.tong

Can I synchronise SQL Database while it is in Replication?

Postby zahid khan » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:29 pm

Hi,

I am usually use red gate for comparing data and database schema. But I need to synchronise database (schema and the data). both the database are in replication. Every time I want to synchronise, it give me error with an stored procedure. but the stored procedure does not need to synchronise as it is already matching. Can you please help me in this case?
Thansk & Regards
Zahid Khan
MS SQL Database Administrator
zahid khan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:22 pm
Location: London

Postby Brian Donahue » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:55 pm

I can't say specifically what the problem is with the stored procedure because there is no information here about the error or anything, but in general, SQL Compare is not able to synchronize replicated databases because it does not detect that columns are participating in replication and script an sp_dropreplcomumn rather than an ALTER TABLE. Sometimes you can get it to work in certain circumstances.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests