Offset from integer

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, Lionel, Emma A, sherr

Offset from integer

Postby tilo23 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:01 pm

May I create offset from an integer value (just as I can do this for datetime)? Currently I use trigger to update a row after insert, but maybe there is a better way?
Inside the Dilbert's world
tilo23
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby Brian Donahue » Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:32 am

Hello,

If you just want to add a set number to another number in an int field, maybe just choosing the right generator, using a custom generator, or a python generator will do the trick. Provided you don't want to add two numbers from two columns in the same table. That's still a problem for SDG. If you can be a bit more specific I can give some advice about how to do it.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby tilo23 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:41 pm

Assuming I've got Column1 of integer type, I'd like the Column2 to be in range +1 to +100 in accordance to Column1. i.e.
Column1 Column2
20 76
150 151
6540 6602
etc.
Inside the Dilbert's world
tilo23
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby Brian Donahue » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:54 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately this sort of thing is not possible at the moment, but lots of people have requested that SDG be able to extrapolate values from newly-generated data in the same column.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby Brian Donahue » Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:20 pm

Ben's done a plugin for SDG that will allow you to do this, but I'm not sure it will work in v2:
http://www.simple-talk.com/dotnet/.net- ... generator/
SQL Data Generator v2 has Python script embedded in it, but the config object only seems to pass data from the column that is currently being generated and you don't have access to other columns. Not sure why it has this shortcoming...
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby tilo23 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:07 am

Exactly. I have spent some time looking at possible python scripts usage and I miss some functionalities...
I will be evaluating the IronRuby generator in the next couple of days - will let you know if that works.
Thanks for the reply anyway.
Inside the Dilbert's world
tilo23
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby tilo23 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:42 am

I know you don't support the IronRuby stuff - but could you provide me the step-by-step instruction of how to deploy Ben's generator into SDG? Which files need to be copy and where? I have 2.0.1.6 version.
Inside the Dilbert's world
tilo23
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:31 pm

Usually you just drop a custom generator dll into the SDG program files folder. SDG should reflect the namespace in the DLL and if it's correct, add it to a list of generators you can use. However, it may need to be recompiled for v2 if it doesn't work. Sadly, the SDG team chose not to document any of this, so I don't know exactly how it's meant to work.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby tilo23 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:00 pm

When all the dll copied into SDG folder it results in a crash on generators' list open :-(
If you ever decide to adjust the generator for the SDG 2 - please post it somewhere. It looks like a really powerful iprovement towards complicated data validity. Would save my time on writing trigger and update scripts and running several projects...
Inside the Dilbert's world
tilo23
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:15 pm

I'm emailing you a new build of IronRuby generator. Extract it to your "Generators" folder - seems to work for me on v2.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby tilo23 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:27 am

Just to let you know: the Ruby generator is great and solves plenty of my issues :-) Thanks a lot for all the support! You should definitely include this in the next SDG version.
Inside the Dilbert's world
tilo23
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Re:

Postby CGLuttrell » Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:40 pm

Brian Donahue wrote:I'm emailing you a new build of IronRuby generator. Extract it to your "Generators" folder - seems to work for me on v2.

Brian, any chance of posting this for others to use? Sounds like it worked great for tilo23.
Thanks, Chris
CGLuttrell
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Postby Brian Donahue » Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:01 am

I put it here, but it probably needs a rebuild as the custom generators have to be custom-built for every SQL Data Generator version.
ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/SQL_ ... .0.1.6.zip
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Data Generator 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest