version 10 - tries to create db for remote dbs

Compares and synchronizes SQL Server databases, backups and scripts.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, eddie davis, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, alice.easey, james.billings, chengvoon.tong

version 10 - tries to create db for remote dbs

Postby integragroup » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:22 pm

Just updated to v 10. Tried to compare two remote databases that I had compared multiple times with v 9.x and now v10 is saying "New Database", the target database you specified does not exist.

I selected database to database
remote server is the same in both cases
and I selected the two databases from the drop down

Local to local of a backup/restore of these two databases do not present this issue.

Did SQL Compare become only usable on the box on which it is installed or am I missing something
integragroup
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:17 pm

Postby neil.anderson » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:50 pm

Hi integragroup,

v10 of SQL Compare allows you to create a new database straight from the edit project dialog. Compare checks if the database specified in the database name field exists and if not it presents you with the option to create one.

It seems in your case Compare is acting strangely. If you picked the db names from the dropdown then they exist, so you shouldn't get the "Create Database" screen when you hit compare now.

Can you give me some more detail about the error? What version of SQL Server are your remote dbs on? What are the database names? Is there anything special/different about them? Does this happen all the time for you?

Thanks,
Neil
neil.anderson
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:17 pm

Postby integragroup » Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:05 pm

It appears this could be related to SQL Server 2000.
We are in the process of migrating over to 2008 so I tested it between 2 dbs on the 2008 server and it behaved as desired.

I don't get an error, I get the "New Database" prompt indicating "The target database you specified does not exist".

The interesting thing here is the Database Name is the name of the Source database for the comparison.
integragroup
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:17 pm

Postby lnuzum » Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:04 pm

I just installed the new 10 version and I'm having the same issue comparing a SQL2008 to SQL2000 database. It's forcing me to try to create a new one and no option to get past this. Does the new version no longer support SQL2000? That would be bad.
lnuzum
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:22 pm

Postby neil.anderson » Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:18 pm

Hi guys,

Thanks for pointing out this issue. I've made a fix and uploaded it here:

http://downloads.red-gate.com/checkforu ... .0.160.exe

Please give that a go and let me know if it fixes the SQL 2000 problem.

Happy New Year!

Neil
neil.anderson
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:17 pm

Update looks to have corrected the issue

Postby integragroup » Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:32 pm

Did a quick test and it looked like it was going to work. Will perform additional tests today and will report back if anything new develops.
integragroup
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:17 pm

Postby mortenn@hapro.no » Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:14 pm

Hi,

I was getting this as well after upgrading, so I installed the new build..
Now my SQL Compare is crashing upon startup, like I was experiencing at one time, using version 9.

Looking at the email from that time, then it was a AV/Firewall issue, but I cannot see anything in the log this time around.

Debugging the application, I get this exception:

System.Net.Sockets.SocketException
An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions
at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.DoBind(EndPoint endPointSnapshot, SocketAddress socketAddress)
at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Bind(EndPoint localEP)
at #Ahw.#Fhw.#PdC(Int32 nMilliSecondsToWait)
at #Ahw.#Fhw.#PdC()
at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart_Context(Object state)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart()

My previous problem was logged with the number F0050810.

-- Regards, Morten
mortenn@hapro.no
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:21 pm

Postby mortenn@hapro.no » Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:22 pm

Okay, it was the same error again, but somehow it didn't affect SQL Compare 10 before I installed the .160 version, how peculiar..

-- Cheers, Morten
mortenn@hapro.no
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:21 pm

Postby mortenn@hapro.no » Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:49 pm

I can confirm 10.0.0.160 as working properly for me.

-- Regards, Morten
mortenn@hapro.no
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:21 pm

Postby jmeyer » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:18 pm

I can also confirm that .160 solved this issue for us under SQL Server 2000.

Thanks,
Jens
jmeyer
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:07 pm

Fix worked...

Postby jreynolds » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:58 pm

The .160 fix worked for me as well; we were experiencing the same problems.
jreynolds
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:21 pm

Postby ciaranarcher » Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:53 am

Ditto for us. We were deploying from SQL Server 2008 R2 to SQL Server 2000. The .160 release fixed the issue.
ciaranarcher
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:52 am

Postby ben.joyce » Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:58 pm

I was having the same issue after upgrading, trying to compare two SQL 2000 DBs.

The fix resolved the issue. Cheers.
ben.joyce
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:55 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Fix worked

Postby DennisRehm » Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:32 pm

The fix solved the problem for me, too.
DennisRehm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:03 pm


Return to SQL Compare 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests