Primary key has moved on

Compares and synchronizes SQL database content.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, richardjm, david connell

Primary key has moved on

Postby joshdanhall » Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:06 am

Hi,

I'm using Data Compare to create scripts to populate reference data into multiple environments. With the scripts generated I now run into problems because the primary key from one INSERT may no longer be appropriate for the target environment. For example that environment may already have generated a row with that id value, so my script will fail.

Does the Data Compare tool offer a solution for this, or will I have to hand-edit the scripts to handle the dynamic nature of my requirements?

Note: The primary key value is also used in subsequent INSERTs, as it is a foreign key for other table.

Thanks in advance.

Regards, Josh
joshdanhall
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:54 am

Postby andy.campbell.smith » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:47 am

I'm afraid SQL Data Compare doesn't have multiple-environment support, so there's not really any built-in functionality designed to handle situations like this. Do let us know if you come up with a nice solution, but there's not much I can really offer you, sorry!
Andy Campbell Smith

Red Gate Technical Support Engineer
andy.campbell.smith
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Red Gate Software


Return to SQL Data Compare Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests