Prepend text to command line script file

Forum for users of SQL Compare schema synchronization utility

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson

Prepend text to command line script file

Postby brian.merz » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:00 pm

As a future feature request, would it be possible to add an option to prepend text to a saved script file generated from the command line? This could aid in reducing human error as the default database when starting management studio is not always the one I am targeting.

In the ideal world I would like to be able to add

"use </db2:argument>
go"

to the top of the file to prevent those occasions where I do not change from the default database to the desired database.

Keep up the great work!
--Brian
brian.merz
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:40 pm

Postby Chris.Allen » Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:53 pm

Thanks for your positive comments. I will follow this up with the product management team.
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm

Postby Chris.Allen » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:33 pm

SQL Compare has an option to add a USE Database statement to it's script. It's off by default so simply needs to be enabled.
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm


Return to SQL Compare Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests