Collation

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: JonathanWatts, David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, Lionel, Emma A

Collation

Postby rcd.guerra » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:33 pm

Hello,

my SQL Server db has correct collation "Latin1_General_CI_AS".

If i update some varchar column with the value "Comité" for instance it is commited correctly.

When i'm generating data from the tool, it is complying with the db collation.

For instance, the value "Comité" is inserted as "Comit�".

Does anyone have a clue why this is happening ?

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Ricardo
rcd.guerra
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:43 pm

Postby eddie davis » Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:03 pm

Thank you for your post into the forum and sorry that you have encountered a problem.

What collation is the database configured to use?

If different, what is the collation of this particular varchar column?

What Windows language setting and keyboard layout are you using?

Many Thanks
Eddie
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
eddie davis
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Red Gate Software

Postby rcd.guerra » Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:33 pm

Hi Eddie,

thanks for your post.

The db and particular column use the same collation, Latin1_General_CI_AS.

Windows Language is en-US.

Default input language is pt-PT (Portuguese).

Keyboard layout is en-US

Thanks for your time.
rcd.guerra
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:43 pm

Postby james.billings » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:42 pm

Thanks for coming back to us.

I've just set up a DB using that collation and used Data Generator to insert "Comité" into a varchar(50) column. It seemed to work correctly (querying the table in SSMS shows the value correctly).

Could you tell us a little more about what generator you are using for that column, how you're specifying the values and so on?
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby rcd.guerra » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:41 pm

Hi, thanks for your post.

We are using a FileList generator having a file containing a set of values with accents.

I've tried changing that file encoding but no success either.
rcd.guerra
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:43 pm

Postby rcd.guerra » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:50 pm

We've also tried running Data Generator against another db server and database but with the same result.

Can you explain how does the generator fills the values in the preview so we can also debug what might be wrong here ?

Thanks a lot!

Ricardo
rcd.guerra
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:43 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:02 pm

Is it possible for you to mail the file you're using to support@red-gate.com with F0053639 as a subject line? I'd like to try it myself. I've seen something similar before and I'm fairly sure it was the file encoding, but if I can test it out myself I can be sure.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Postby rcd.guerra » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:33 pm

James, just sent the email.

Thanks a lot!
rcd.guerra
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:43 pm

Postby james.billings » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:48 pm

In case anyone else runs into this, the solution was to open the file containing the text list to be used with SQL Data Generator in Notepad, and then go to File > Save As.

Ensure "UTF-8" is selected as the file type, then save it.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.


Return to SQL Data Generator 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests