SmartAssembly with Windows Azure Packaging

.NET obfuscator and automated error reporting

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, melvyn.harbour, dom.smith

SmartAssembly with Windows Azure Packaging

Postby jensh » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:55 am

Dear Support,

I am running the following post-build event in VS2010 in my Silverlight Azure app:

\"C:\\Program Files\\Red Gate\\SmartAssembly 6\\SmartAssembly.com\" /build <SAProjName.saproj> /output=$self

which works fine both from the command line and when clicking 'Rebuild' from within VS.

However, when I try to 'Package' the Azure role I get the following error:

The command <command specified above> exited with code 1

which prevents the Azure package from being created.

Any ideas how to get around this?

Thanks
Jens
jensh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:49 am

Postby james.davies » Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:20 pm

Note that because of the way the azure build magic works, simply obfuscating assemblies in the output directory isn't sufficient, you need to make sure the copies under /obj/ get replaced with obfuscated versions.

Please try that and see if it helps
Thanks,
James Davies
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software
james.davies
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:39 pm

Postby jensh » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:01 pm

James,

Please could you clarify what you mean or, better still, post an example of how you have done this? The /obj/ directories on my machine do not contain the XAP file.

Thanks
Jens
jensh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:49 am

Postby james.davies » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:09 pm

Sorry , I don't have an example. Only a some notes from a developer about using SmartAssembly with Azure.

The notes are:

We (SmartAssembly) can't open cspkg files. Making SA work on the assemblies before they're packaged is required. It's probably best to make SA part of your release build process.

Note that because of the way the azure build magic works, simply obfuscating assemblies in the output directory isn't sufficient, you need to make sure the copies under /obj/ get replaced with obfuscated versions.

I hope that makes more sense.
Thanks,
James Davies
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software
james.davies
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:39 pm

Postby jensh » Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:14 am

Any chance of asking the developer in question how they did it? I'm sure documentation around this issue would benefit other users or potential users of SmartAssembly.
jensh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:49 am

Postby james.davies » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:52 pm

\"Making SA work on the assemblies before they're packaged is required. It's probably best to make SA part of your release build process. \"

So you will need to create an msbuild script that runs smartassembly after build but before packaging. And that build script will also need to make sure the copies under /obj/ get replaced with obfuscated versions.

Here is a helpful article about using smartAssembly with msbuild

http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/C ... 479859.htm
Thanks,
James Davies
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software
james.davies
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:39 pm


Return to SmartAssembly 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests