Change default TFS port

A SQL Server Management Studio add-in to source control your database in Subversion or Team Foundation Server.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, sherr, PhilScrace

Change default TFS port

Postby philcart » Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:30 am

Our TFS server is setup on port 80, rather than the default of 8080.

How can I change the default port in SSC?

Cheers
Phil
philcart
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:14 am

Postby Brian Donahue » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:40 pm

Hello,

I don't believe there is a default port setting for TFS that you can set in SQL Source Control. Any web-bsed system will have a default port of 80, which is the Internet standard. Any other port number has to be explicitly included in the repository URL that you link to.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby philcart » Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:17 pm

Thanks Brian.

When you link a database, the port shown in the dialog is 8080. If there is no "setting" for it, then it must be hardcoded.

This makes it a bit fiddly as we have to change the port to 80 every time we link a database.
philcart
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:14 am

Postby philcart » Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:00 am

So is there no way for this to be changed? Is the port number really hardcoded!!
philcart
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:14 am

Postby David Atkinson » Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:38 am

It must be edited from the 8080 default. As soon as you've put the server URL in, the box will ungray and you can type it in. But you'll need to do this each time for now.

How important is this ability for you? Linking a database to source control shouldn't be a frequent task.

David Atkinson
Product Manager
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby philcart » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:30 am

Its a pretty sore point at the moment as we're moving from SVN, Bugzilla and non controlled databases, to TFS and SSC. This is just one more item for the devs to be upset about.

We haven't finalised our process for updating developers local databases with fresh data from production. So we're having to restore their local databases at once a day, 2-3 times a day in extreme cases. This means we have to re-link and get latest.

The repeated restores may have upset the workspaces as well, but I'll submit another post about that.
philcart
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:14 am

Postby David Atkinson » Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:05 am

What we're hoping to do in a future version is to add an extended property to the database that contains the repository information. This means that relinking to a database shouldn't require the user to put in the repository information again.

I guess we should also make the tool remember the last port number that was used so I'll raise a bug for this (ref SOC-3044).

David
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby philcart » Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:36 pm

Cheers.
philcart
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:14 am

Postby philcart » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:23 am

philcart
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:14 am

Postby csmith » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:55 pm

Hi

Sorry you are having a problem with this. Can you please confirm if the below workaround works for you?

You should be able to specify a port in the Migration Scripts repository URL field. For instance, to specify port 8081 I would add the following:

"http://my-tfs-2010rtm.mydomain.com:8081/tfs/sqlsourcecontrolcollection";

If you have already connected to a Migration Script location but against the wrong port, you will need to unlink and re-link your database from source control to be able to edit the Migration Script URL.

Sorry this is convoluted, we will look into making this easier in the future.

Best regards,
Chris
Chris Smith
Project Manager
Deployment Manager
csmith
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Cambridge

Postby csmith » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:00 pm

I should have added... if you don't want to unlink and relink the database and are comfortable editing xml files, you should be able to add the port specification to the URL by editing the following file:

C:\\Users\\[yourusername]\\AppData\\Local\\Red Gate\\SQL Source Control 3\\LinkedDatabases.xml

You'd need to close SSMS first and then look for the entry for the database you want to change. Then find a node called ServerUrl under the LinkedMigrationsLocation node and add the ":8081".
Chris Smith
Project Manager
Deployment Manager
csmith
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Cambridge

Is this fixed in SQL Source Control 3?

Postby benik9 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:11 pm

Is this fixed in SQL Source Control 3?
benik9
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:07 pm


Return to SQL Source Control 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests