Localization DLLs

.NET obfuscator and automated error reporting

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, melvyn.harbour, dom.smith

Localization DLLs

Postby DavidDespres » Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:25 pm

Greetings,

When I deploy my application that has been obfuscated by SA 6.0 it will not load the localized resources at runtime, but keeps the original language it was obfuscated with. The application is a Windows .NET Form that has the localizable property set. If I drop the un-obfuscated .EXE it will load the localized resource file just fine.

What am I missing to get this to work properly?

Thanks for your time an consideration.
David Despres
DavidDespres
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Westford, MA USA

Postby james.davies » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:35 pm

Satellite Assemblies should be handled by later versions of Smart Assembly
What version are you using ?
Thanks,
James Davies
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software
james.davies
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:39 pm

Version 6.1 Build 48

Postby DavidDespres » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:36 pm

Hi James,

Thanks for the reply and the version I am using is 6.1 Build 48.

Best Regards,
David Despres
DavidDespres
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Westford, MA USA

Postby james.davies » Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:34 am

After building SA should show that is has detected and updated the satellite assemblies, in conjunction with the main assembly.
Satellite assemblies should not be merged or embedded as that would break them.

It is also possible that the localizable property has been pruned. You could try excluding it from pruning (and obfuscation).
Thanks,
James Davies
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software
james.davies
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:39 pm

Localization DLLs

Postby DavidDespres » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:28 pm

James,

I tried your suggestions, but to no avail. Again, this is a .NET Form that has a property that says that it is localizable. That is, at runtime it detects the computers language/culture and looks in a subfolder where the executable is and loads the external resource(This is a windows thing and not something special I am doing). I run the un-obfuscated executable it loads the correct resource file. I run the obfuscated executable and it just shows the original language.

Can you suggest my next steps?
David Despres
DavidDespres
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Westford, MA USA


Return to SmartAssembly 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest