Profiling against IISExpress 7.5

Code profiling for .NET Developers

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, StephenC, Alex.Davies, AndrewH, melvyn.harbour, Laura Morley

Profiling against IISExpress 7.5

Postby Jason.West » Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:42 pm

I can't seem to figure out how to make this work.

Developing on Server2008 which is x64
Visual Studio 2010
ANTS Performance Profiler 6.3
The app runs through IISExpress 7.5 as an option
in the project properties.

Reason I ask about this is there the app behaves differently
on Cassini and we are not allowed to run full blown IIS on
our development box.

Thanks.
Jason.West
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:38 pm

Postby Chris.Allen » Wed Aug 24, 2011 6:17 pm

It's not clear what the exact problem you are having is.

What happens when you click on "Start Profiling"?
Chris.Allen
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:17 pm

Postby Jason.West » Wed Aug 24, 2011 6:23 pm

The IISExpress is greyed out as a choice to attach to because it
seems there is a constraint only allowing .Net 2.0. Now, I don't
know that is actually case, only what I can infer from the screens.
Is there anything I can give/show/steps to help find the real issue?
Jason.West
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:38 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:20 am

Nobody has tested Profiler with IISExpress but supposedly you can profile IISExpress.exe as a desktop application. Actually in theory it should work a lot better than the current IIS support, which is not without its' problems.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby Laura Morley » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:27 am

As Brian says, if you've been trying to profile using the "Attach to process" profiling mode, you may get better results instead by choosing the ".NET executable" application type on Application Settings:

1. In the ".NET executable" field, tell ANTS to profile the IIS worker process (probably something like C:Program Files (x86)IIS Expressiisexpress.exe)

2. In the "Arguments" field, specify the app you want to profile - e.g. /site:"MyCMSSystem"

Does this help at all?
Laura Morley
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: Red Gate Software

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:35 am

There are a few different ways you can launch a website with IISExpress. Please reference the MS help for a description of the arguments:
http://learn.iis.net/page.aspx/870/runn ... mand-line/
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby Jason.West » Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:57 pm

OK, great. I can use the command line option and got that working just fine.

I guess it would be nice if there was a hook like how it works for the Cassini development server.

In case anyone else has the same problem. I found using the /config
and a customized applicationhost.config file to be the easiest for the
IISExpress command line switches.

Thanks!
Jason.West
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:38 pm


Return to ANTS Performance Profiler 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest