Team Foundation Server 2010 support

A SQL Server Management Studio add-in to source control your database in Subversion or Team Foundation Server.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, sherr, PhilScrace

Team Foundation Server 2010 support

Postby wsoranno » Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:45 pm

Will SQL Source Control 1 support TFS 2010?
Thanks
Bill Soranno
MCP, MCTS, MCITP DBA
Database Administrator
Winona State University
Maxwell 148
wsoranno@winona.edu

\"Quality, like Success, is a Journey, not a Destination\" - William Soranno '92
wsoranno
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 5:35 pm

Postby David Atkinson » Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:15 pm

Yes, it currently supports TFS 2010. Are you having issues with this?

David Atkinson
Red Gate Software
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby wsoranno » Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:41 pm

David,
Thanks for the reply.
The format of entering the url to the TFS server looked similar to VS2008 and it does not work with TFS 2010.
I found that when I enter the full url (server:port/collection) I can connect to TFS 2010.
Thanks
Bill Soranno
MCP, MCTS, MCITP DBA
Database Administrator
Winona State University
Maxwell 148
wsoranno@winona.edu

\"Quality, like Success, is a Journey, not a Destination\" - William Soranno '92
wsoranno
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 5:35 pm

TFS 2010 Needs the Team Project Collection

Postby sherr » Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:11 pm

It's great that you figured that out. The original designs were based on TFS 2008 and it hasn't been updated. The Team Project Collection needs to be added at the end of the Server URL in order for it to connect properly.

I've added an issue to update our documentation for now and eventually we would like to make this whole dialog more friendly with the ability to browse your repo easier and create folders from there. These are suggestions on our Suggestion Forum at:
- https://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39 ... nually-typ
- https://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39 ... ?ref=title

Thank you!
Stephanie M. Herr :-)
SQL Source Control Project Manager
sherr
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Cambridge

Error when trying to connect to TFS 2010

Postby sambade » Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:48 pm

hi sherr, when I try to "create a link" to TFS 2010 I receive an error stating that the "path must be an existing, empty directory, and may be case sensitive". What info could I provide to help identify the issue's cause?
sambade
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:39 pm

Error when trying to connect to TFS 2010

Postby sherr » Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:02 am

Hello Sambade,

What version of TFS Server are you using and what version of Visual Studio Client? Could you email support@red-gate.com the following screenshots from your TFS server?

1) It would be great if we could see the Source Control Explorer for the folder you are trying to connect to. Make sure it is empty. There can't be anything else in this folder. If it's not empty, you'll need to create a new folder using TFS Source Control Explorer, Check It In, and then Create a New Link to that. (NOTE: In TFS Source Control Explorer, you need to click on the area in the right to create a "New Folder." If this option is grayed out for you, "Get Latest Version" to create a working area and then you should be able to create a new folder.)

2) Also, please include a screenshot of your TFS Server Properties. You can find this by right-clicking on your TFS Server in Team Explorer and then selecting Properties. I want to make sure the Properties URL matches what you are using in SQL Source Control. It needs to contain the path and TeamProjectCollection if you are using TFS 2010.

3) Finally, please attach the "Source Location" folder, which can be found at the top of the Source Control Explorer Window and should begin with $/.
Thank you!
Stephanie M. Herr :-)
Delivery Product Manager
sherr
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Cambridge

Postby sambade » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:15 pm

Hi Stephanie! I was able to sort out my problem just as the support team reached out to me. It was my inexperience with TFS; once I had set the local working folders and went thru the process of enabling the "New Folder" creation I was able to connect the dbs up to the TFS server. Thanks for your responsiveness!

Jose
sambade
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:39 pm

Worked Example Using TFS

Postby sherr » Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:12 am

If you need help linking to a TFS server, please see this example, http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/C ... .0/toc.htm.

Let us know if anything is unclear so we can update this documentation.
Thank you!
Stephanie M. Herr :-)
Delivery Product Manager
sherr
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: Cambridge

Working base is Broken - after upgrade to TFS 2010

Postby lnaidu » Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:21 pm

Hi All,

We recently upgraded from TFS 2008 to 2010. After few hiccups was able to connect to the TFS server using VS 2010.

So tried updating the database objects using Redgate Source Control but had an error message saying the Working Base is Broken.

Following is the preview of the error message:

System.Net.WebException: The request failed with HTTP status 403: Forbidden.
at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.ReadResponse(SoapClientMessage message, WebResponse response, Stream responseStream, Boolean asyncCall)
at
lnaidu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Issue is Fixed

Postby lnaidu » Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:17 pm

Was able to fix the issue by unlinking and relinking the databases to the TFS with Redgate Support help.

A special thanks to Chris Auckland , Redgate Product Support

-Lakshman
lnaidu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN


Return to SQL Source Control 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests