bugs: menu system, search not working.

Moderator: Greg.Tillman

bugs: menu system, search not working.

Postby JasonD » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:44 am

Please use the default Windows menu system, and remove the custom code. It always annoys me slightly each time I click on the menu and wish to browse through them, and the custom code used by NET Reflector forces that it locks to whichever menu you clicked on first. For example, click once on "View", and then scroll the mouse to "Tools", and the "View" menu remains, ignoring your request to view other menus. I don't know why, but little things like this always are very annoying, and I believe it is precisely because it is absolutely ignoring my requests. This is the only program I've ever used in Windows that behaves in this manner, which is how I know the menu system is custom.

Also, not that this bothers me, but the menus show little grips that you normally could grab and drag, and I am not sure why they exist in NET Reflector, since they don't respond at all to my input. So they appear to have functionality that the program doesn't have. This is very strange, and makes me believe that the functionality is meant to be there, but due to some bug, it is not working.

I am running Windows Vista 64-bit edition, if that matters.
Running v6.8.1.3 of NET Reflector.

Also the search feature doesn't appear to work all the time. For example typing "normalize" does not return Vector2.Normalize even when Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Graphics is included in the list, not even if it is selected. I am not sure what's going on, but a search that doesn't return an exact match to a method being typed in removes my confidence that it works well, and I end up manually having to locate the desired result.

I am sad to hear that it is the last free version. That is quite a disappointment, RedGate.

GREAT program by the way. Kudos.
Last edited by JasonD on Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JasonD
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:33 am
Location: Canada

Postby Bart Read » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:53 pm

Hi Jason,


Thanks for the feedback.

You're absolutely right: .NET Reflector does use custom menu and toolbar code, which we're eventually planning to retire. I can only speculate as to why the custom code is there, although I suspect it's because Lutz started developing Reflector some time before the .NET Framework was released into the wild, so it's quite possible that WinForms was either not present, or was incomplete back then.

There are a few other legacies from this era dotted around the UI code as well, which we are gradually replacing.

Hopefully that's informative, if not actually helpful.


Thanks again,


Bart
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Bart Read
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Cambridge, UK


Return to .NET Reflector 6 Community Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests