generic SQL Statement generator returning NULLs

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Lionel

generic SQL Statement generator returning NULLs

Postby joplus » Wed May 25, 2011 4:39 pm

I am using the "generic SQL Statement" generator to populate a column. The statement is something like

select school_id from school_profile where district_id = 44

which should return 10 distinct values, none of them NULL.

I am trying to generate 90K rows of data, so I am expecting my generated data set to have about 9K rows per distinct value. Instead, I always see about 1% NULL values, no matter what I do to the settings.

I have checked the "Loop until number of rows required is reached" checkbox. I have tried un-checking "add NULLs to data," and have also tried checking that box and setting % NULL to 0.

Am I missing something? For the moment, my workaround is to use a weighted list and enter my 10 distinct values by hand, but I would like to do something more automated if possible.

Thanks in advance for any help.
joplus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:04 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu May 26, 2011 5:17 pm

Which version are you running? I found reference to a bug that caused this behaviour, which the patch from http://www.red-gate.com/messageboard/vi ... hp?t=11835 should help with.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Re:

Postby joplus » Thu May 26, 2011 6:56 pm

james.billings wrote:Which version are you running? I found reference to a bug that caused this behaviour, which the patch from http://www.red-gate.com/messageboard/vi ... hp?t=11835 should help with.


I'm running 1.2.0.286, which is a lower version than the patch you mention (thanks, btw). But my database is case-sensitive, so I'm not sure this patch will help. And since the disclaimer says "Note: This patch has not completed the full release test cycle, so no guarantees are expressed or implied." I'm even more wary. Have you installed this update? Did it break anything?
joplus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:04 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu May 26, 2011 6:59 pm

Well according to the bug I found, the problem was actually fixed in 1.1... so either it got re-broken in a newer version, or what you are experiencing is caused by something else.

Is it possible for you to supply the database to us for further testing?
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Re:

Postby joplus » Thu May 26, 2011 7:36 pm

james.billings wrote:Well according to the bug I found, the problem was actually fixed in 1.1... so either it got re-broken in a newer version, or what you are experiencing is caused by something else.

Is it possible for you to supply the database to us for further testing?


Let me check with my manager and I will get back with you shortly. Thanks again.
joplus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:04 pm

Postby james.billings » Thu May 26, 2011 7:44 pm

Sure - if you can, please mail support@red-gate.com with F0048275 in the subject line and I'll sort out the details with you.
james.billings
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:10 am
Location: My desk.

Re:

Postby joplus » Fri May 27, 2011 2:52 pm

james.billings wrote:Sure - if you can, please mail support@red-gate.com with F0048275 in the subject line and I'll sort out the details with you.


Thanks, I've sent you an email.
joplus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:04 pm


Return to SQL Data Generator 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests