can i ignore certain db objects?

A SQL Server Management Studio add-in to source control your database in Subversion or Team Foundation Server.

Moderators: Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, sherr, PhilScrace

Postby bradtoast » Thu May 19, 2011 1:21 am

Forgot to add that this is one of a few things that caused us to go with DB Projects in VS 2010 rather than Red-Gate SQL Source Control at this time. Of course there are a few other things related to Circular Reference (Multiple Databases that all have Synonyms that reference each other) that has even been difficult to overcome on VS. If I get some time I will try and document all the issues we have ran into and the workarounds we came up with to overcome those hurdles. I would love to use SQL Source Control instead, but it's just not quite there for our complex needs.
bradtoast
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:07 am

Postby David Atkinson » Fri May 20, 2011 5:55 am

@bradtoast - I've added you to the list. Regarding supporting variables, it's something we're actively considering. We're thinking hard about the possibility of supporting the database project as a back end, which would mean also supporting features such as variable substitution. However, we don't have any hard dates just yet. We'll keep you informed now that you're on the list. Please feel free to ask any further questions.

Kind regards,

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Replicated databases and source control

Postby davec » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:31 am

Hi,

We have a replicated database bound to source control and are running into a similar problem by not being able to exclude the replication elements that are created dynamically for each instance.

We have 3 different development sql servers in 3 different companies all using the same database schema through TFS and Redgate source control.
It's not going well at the moment.

Are there any tricks you can share for when you bind a replicated database to source control?

Thanks in advance.
davec
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:34 am

Postby David Atkinson » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:46 am

Source controlling replicated databases may be problematic. Which flavor of replication are you using? Could you post an example of the replicated objects that are problematic?

David Atkinson
Red Gate Software
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby davec » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:55 pm

Hi David,

We are doing merge replication and the objects that are giving us grief are all the triggers, etc that include a GUID supplied by the server when replication is turned on.

i.e.
create trigger [MSmerge_del_6B0A0FF8ADDE416C9BF3853E8769F39A] on [server].[dbo].[tablename] FOR DELETE AS
declare @is_mergeagent bit, @at_publisher bit, @retcode smallint

Replication also adds constraints, indexes and statistics. These also need to be filtered out for a replicated database to be bound to source control when shared.
Last edited by davec on Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
davec
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:34 am

Postby David Atkinson » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:22 am

Have you tried the Ignore Replication Triggers option in SQL Compare?
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby davec » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:24 am

But this issue is with SQL Source Control...

Am I missing something?
davec
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:34 am

Postby David Atkinson » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:25 am

Ah... sorry, my bad. You're right.

We're hoping to add the SQL Compare options to SQL Source Control at some point. We don't have any precise details right now, but we'll respond to this thread when we've done the work.

David
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Postby davec » Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:29 am

Do you have any recommendations on how to deal with replicated databases in source control in the mean time?

Should we have one database that isn't replicated and bind that to source control, and have another replicated database that isn't bound to source control. Than keep the unbound db up to date using SQL Compare...

Is that the best we can do for now?
davec
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:34 am

Postby David Atkinson » Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:00 am

I suspect that you're right and you simply have to not have replication in source control as you suggest.

I'd appreciate it if you could try this out and let us know if this is a viable workaround, as it's not the first time we've been asked this!

Many thanks,

David
David Atkinson
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:54 pm
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

Previous

Return to SQL Source Control 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests