About .NET Reflector Update

Explore, browse and analyze .NET assemblies

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, Charles Brown, StephenC, Alex.Davies, Greg.Tillman, melvyn.harbour

About .NET Reflector Update

Postby zhanglinfan » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:29 am

Why don't open my .NET Reflecotr when I click'No' Update?
zhanglinfan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:19 am

Postby kevindente » Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:17 am

I have the same problem - I was on a plane with no internet access, and when launching Reflector it prompted me to update. When I said no, it just terminated. I was unable to use it on that flight. This is a BIG BIG problem.
kevindente
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:19 pm

Reflector Updating

Postby gpcottle » Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:27 am

I sit behind a firewall. If I run Reflector, I am told that it needs updating. If I click "Yes", I get a 407 (Proxy Authentication) error. If I click "No", nothing happens and the program doesn't open.

I can update manually, by downloading the latest version, but this means I have to re-register each time.

There must be a way to have this such that the updating software will authenticate to a proxy. I have been doing it for years with other programs. Any chance of fixing it?
gpcottle
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:13 am

Please sort out the proxy authentication - it's driving me n

Postby ssg31415926 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:30 am

First, I'd like to note that I agree with kevindente - even if I want to update, I can't always. Please make "No" allow it to run, even if you pop up a big warning. That can't be difficult, can it?

At work, I also sit behind a firewall. It's not ISA Server and it doesn't integrate with Windows. Every time I have to access the internet, I have to enter my creds manually, whether it's via IE or Firefox or ..., or I have to configure it to use my creds, such as with TortoiseSVN. Visual Studio was also a problem, reporting 407s just like Reflector. I came across this post to fix VS2010, which pointed me in the right direction. With a bit of butchery, I changed it to this:

Code: Select all
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Net;
using System.Diagnostics;

// From: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/rido/archive/2010/05/06/how-to-connect-to-tfs-through-authenticated-web-proxy.aspx
// Build the DLL, then copy this DLL to the %PROGRAMFILES%\\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\\Common7\\IDE folder
// or C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\\Common7\\IDE,
// and update the devenv.exe.config file to include the module:
// <system.net>
//   <defaultProxy>
//     <module type="Rido.AuthProxy.AuthProxyModule, Rido.AuthProxy"/>
//   </defaultProxy>
// </system.net>
namespace Rido.AuthProxy
{
    /// <summary>
    /// A custom proxy module that provides the credentials required by Team Explorer to contact a TFS server out
    /// there in Internet land.
    /// </summary>
    public class AuthProxyModule : IWebProxy
    {
        private ICredentials crendential;

        public AuthProxyModule() { }
       
        public ICredentials Credentials
        {
            get
            {
                if (crendential != null)
                    return crendential;

                CredentialsForm cf = new CredentialsForm();
                cf.ShowDialog();
                string userName = cf.uxUserNameTextBox.Text;
                string password = cf.uxPasswordTextBox.Text;
                crendential = new NetworkCredential(userName, password);
                return crendential;
            }
            set
            {
                crendential = value;
            }
        }
       
        public Uri GetProxy(Uri destination)
        {
            return new Uri("http://your-proxy-server:80", UriKind.Absolute);
        }
       
        public bool IsBypassed(Uri host)
        {
            return host.IsLoopback;
        }
    }
}

with a form (CredentialsForm) that just contains user and password textboxes with appropriate labels.

Would you consider adding something like this to Reflector? It's so irritating, it might drive me to go beg for the money to buy the Pro version if it contained this.
ssg31415926
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:58 am
Location: GB

Postby Clive Tong » Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:35 am

Hi.

There is already code in Reflector for using a proxy during the update process. You can configure the proxy using Tools/Options/Proxy Server.

Does that help?
Clive Tong
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:42 pm

Doh!

Postby ssg31415926 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:57 am

Ah. Well, I feel like a berk. How long has it been there?
ssg31415926
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:58 am
Location: GB

Postby Clive Tong » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:06 am

I think it's been in there for years.

I must confess that I keep finding things in Reflector that I didn't know existed - discoverability is something we are working on.
Clive Tong
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:42 pm

Bugs and Beta versions

Postby Elmue » Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:45 pm

Hello

Even if the Proxy is entered correctly in the Configuration of Reflector I still can't update Reflector at work because it is not only a Username/Password problem.

The Proxy requires to enter an URL like
http://proxy.mycompany.com:8080/wpad.dat
________________________

But this should not be the topic of the discussion.

The question is:
?? Why is it forbidden to use an old version of Reflector ??

I notice that there are several bugs in Reflector like the one that I posted here:
http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/vi ... hp?t=12349

But that's not all.
I also have crashes in Reflector when decompiling some functions in an Assembly.
Crashes are severe bugs.

In older versions I did not have these bugs.

So Im forced to use a new buggy version although I have an old working version that does not start anymore.
That is absurd.

Why dont you let the user decide which version he wants to use ?
I don't need the new features in the new versions.
I need a stable version that does not crash and does not change the order of the Manged C++ commands at its own will.

I have the impression that you do not enough QA work before releasing a new version. With the first versions of Lutz Roeder I never had problems. My impression is that the quality of Reflector has become worse since these days.

Why don't you offer beta versions that can be tested worldwide and that can be easily uninstalled by any user who has problems.

In the case that I describe here:
http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/vi ... hp?t=12349
I would have reported the bug, uninstalled the beta version, and continued to use an older stable version that did not have this bug.

With your concept of forced updates you make test phases with beta versions impossible because the user cannot go back to an older version when the beta has problems.

Please allow Reflector to run always!

Or do you think that it is nice to force the users to reset the system clock each time before starting Reflector ?

Elmü
Elmue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:08 pm


Return to .Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron